We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fort William
from $682.67
More Info
from $105.03
More Info
from $177.23
More Info
from $91.90
More Info
Reviews (3,760)
Filter reviews
3,760 results
Traveler rating
2,110
956
404
177
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,110
956
404
177
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glenfinnan viaduct harry potter first class return journey afternoon tea high tea fish and chips hogwarts express trolley service book well in advance left hand side fishing village biscuits beautiful scenery months in advance take pictures fort william station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 3,760 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked from Mallaig to Fort William on a wet saturday (gorgeous the day before!) Fabulous experience, views even in the rain were great. If you can opt for first class as the B carriages are basic and seats okay for smaller people!
Harry Potter shop pricey! Would have loved to see the staff in costume - add to the experience - why not?
Glad we experienced this, a great way to travel. Conductor was very friendly which added to the overall trip.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank lindae259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The route the train takes is through some of the most stunning countryside in the British Isles. As well as the iconic Glenfinnan Viaduct, dozens of picturesque lochs are passed with mountains sweeping down to them. When you get closer to Mallaig, the sea opens up with views of many of the Scottish islands coming to the fore.

The train is generally pulled by an old mainline steam train - the smaller ones that tend to be used in some other heritage railways are not up to the stress of the inclines here.

The carriages are authentic old stock with a mix of first and second class. Only sparse snacks and drinks are served on the train itself: either bring your own or wait until you get to Mallaig and use the many cafes and restaurants there (we can recommend Cornerstones).

A great day out - it’s the best part of a six-hour return journey - at very reasonable costs.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Clivel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Surprise trip booked to accompany the folks. Happened to pick one o septembers best summers day and the weather followed us to Mallaig and back. Polite and helpful staff and amazing views there and back.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank omarsJ7227VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There isn't really any other way to travel.
We booked first class as it was a treat for our elderly relative. Note there are two types of first class carriage: the closed compartment and the open tabled compartment. Both are full of character. Although the seats may need recushioning soon.
We booked champagne and this was on our table when we arrived, but despite the booking being for three there was only two glasses. A short walk down the train resolved this. All the train staff were happy, helpful and friendly.
The time in Mallaig before the return is about right for a quick walk round and a bite of lunch.
If you are lucky enough to get sunshine, the views are spectacular. Plus of course the viaduct .... It might help if they announced the viaduct to allow the photographers a better chance of a good photo.
Don't hang out the windows. ! you'll get sooted by the loco and 2 you get clouted by the vegetation that grows very close to the line.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank EWTG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to book the train as we are fan of Harry Potter: we were not disappointed!!! Glenfinnan viaduct was great and all the scenery in general was beautiful: better to be on the left side of the train to go to Mallaig!
We took some snacks with us and we had a small lunch in Mallaig (really good the vanilla/butterscotch ice cream from a small shop in there).
Happy to have been in second class as it is already expensive and the first class did not seem anything special! A bit boring the return journey though but we had the car in Fort William so we had to go back!
Still...definitely recommended at least once!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank pacio85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews