We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views and a warm welcome”
Review of Quaich Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quaich Cottage
Ranked #79 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Balsall Common, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Magnificent views and a warm welcome”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Myself and my partner picked this b&b primarily because of the price for a double en-suite room, but from the first email from Val and Ian we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and exceptionally clean and the view from our bedroom (and bathroom) was amazing - we drove all round Fort William and couldn't find a better view of Ben Nevis. The b&b is a few miles outside of the town centre but is nearby a large pub serving simple but pleasant food - and there's a 10% discount from the b&b owners. Val and Ian gave great advice about sights to see that could not be found in the guidebooks and I would not hesitate to recommend to stay at their lovely home

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Although my husband and I together with our friends stayed in this B&B only for one night we enjoyed it immensely. We were welcomed by the most friendly couple Val and Ian with a cup of hot tea & biscuits and spent whole evening with them having a great chat and banter. The rooms were exceptional - clean and cosy, not to mention the stunning view over Ben Nevis Range. Delicious brekfast including venison sausages was just the cherry on the top. It never felt like a being in a B&B, it was more like visiting old friends. Would higly recommend and if we're ever back in Fort William we'll go straight to Quaich Cottage!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Great hosts Val and Ian. This is a little out of Fort William but to us ideal. The views an country feel are fantastic and only about 15 minutes out of Fort William. Breakfast was also very good
Everything was great and we shall return.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Having stayed in plenty of B&B's in the past, we found Quaich Cottage to be everything you could expect and hope for.
Its a lovely house and the rooms are spacious, delightfully furnished and quite immaculate.
We recieved a wonderful welcome from Ian and Val who were both very helpful, friendly and really nice company.
The views toward the mighty Nevis range are just jaw dropping, much better that you'll ever get from the A82, looking right into the huge northern cliffs. I found it difficult to tear myself away from the windows as the light was constantly changing the look of the Ben.
We stopped there twice recently and chatting to other guests they were all very happy with their choice of B&B each time.
The breakfast is huge and very tasty, I don't usually bother much about breakfast but this kept me going for most of the day.
Another plus is the price, ...really good value for money.
I would not hesitate in reccommending Quaich Cottage to anyone, OK you need a car as its a couple of miles outside town, but the stunning views and the location of the cottage makes the few minutes drive from Fort William worthwhile.
Thanks a million for making our stay there all the more enjoyable, it'll be my first choice of B&B each time I return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

What a lovely establishment. The welcoming and friendly atmosphere was really a home from home.
This was amazing value for money. The breakfasts were unbelievably big and really set you up for the day.
The local knowledge was invaluable and proved very helpful.
Would recommend this establishment to anyone travelling to Fort William.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarvisNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Spectacular views of Ben Nevis! It takes some driving on a one-way track to get there, but it's well worth it, especially for those who don't need to be close to Ft. William itself (there is a smaller hotel where dinner can be had for a very reasonable price). The rooms are very clean, beautifully appointed, comfortable and warm. And so is the reception from Val and Ian. The breakfast is hearty, the selection is good and the view from the breakfast room is to die for! It is certainly a place I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

A lovely little b&b with gorgeous views of Ben Nevis. The rooms are nicely decorated and perfectly clean; we found it to be excellent value for money. The breakfasts were great too, and as a vegetarian I was well catered for. Ian and Val could not have been more welcoming or helpful. All in all, we were very impressed with Quaich Cottage, so much so that my Mum has been pestering me to write a review since we got back! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muckypup1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.9 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#18 of 21 in Fort William
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 3 in Corpach
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hillview Guesthouse
Hillview Guesthouse
#21 of 112 in Fort William
230 reviews
2.9 mi away
Morvich B&B
Morvich B&B
#12 of 112 in Fort William
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shelbeck B&B
Shelbeck B&B
#13 of 29 in Fort William
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quaich Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quaich Cottage

Property: Quaich Cottage
Address: Upper Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Quaich Cottage Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing