We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #39 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highland heaven”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

First stop on walking holiday and couldn't have been nicer. Lovely clean bright warm and comfortable room, comfy beds and warm welcome. Just few minutes walk from town centre and bus station- although we got a cab as had luggage at this point. Lovely breakfast and beautiful view across loch. Left our luggage there for bag transfer which was no problem at all. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    26
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great location, Pam and Ray Howat made us very welcome during our 3 night stay in early July. Go for the loch view room, and the front breakfast table overlooking the loch! Could not fault the furnishings, cleanliness and 'home from home' atmosphere. Nice touch was the dish of sweets on the table in the hallway........!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5thepearces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were made very welcome by Pam on arrival. Our room was spotless and beautifully furnished with the added bonus of fantastic loch view, wow! Breakfast was great overlooking the loch. Walking distance to town for good selection of eateries for lunch or dinner. Thank you Pam for making our stay so enjoyable in UK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pam and Ray Howat are very professional hosts who pay great attention to details that make one's stay memorable and comfortable. There was a lovely garden out front, with a picnic table for relaxing with a stunning view overlooking Loch Linnhe (with moored sailboats) and the Ardgour Hills. A dish of candies accompanied the guest book in the front hall. Binoculars for common use sat on the windowsill in the bright, glassed in conservatory, where our delicious , full Scottish breakfast was served.
Our room was spotless, comfortable and spacious, with a supply of coffee/tea and biscuits. Tourist information was helpful and organized in a plastic folder. The room lighting was bright, making reading in bed easy.Linens were top quality and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern, well designed and tastefully appointed.
Pam welcomed us early, so we could drop our bags before taking the afternoon Jacobite train trip to the coast. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here before in a loch view room which, unfortunately, wasn't available when we booked for this second visit. We had Pam's last available room which was a twin with velux window. The beds were comfortable, the room was nicely furnished, the bathroom modern (on the small side but more than adequate) and all very clean. Breakfast is in the conservatory overlooking the loch and was more than adequate. We would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had two nights here and it was terrific. The room was lovely and generously sized and the bed was extremely comfortable. We loved the breakfast room and the food was delicious and was served by the friendly but not intrusive, host who gave us some good advice about our plans for the day and then was genuinely interested the next day in how it all went. It was a nice touch having the DVD's available about the area and Scotland in general. Fort William is a lovely place to stay and two nights means you can see a few local sights without rushing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pam and Ray were really friendly and helpful during our stay. Our room was a good size and the bathroom was one of the best we had on our Scotland holiday (I loved the lit mirror so much I'm thinking of buying one for home ..) Everything was spotlessly clean.
We had a tick list to choose our breakfast for the following day and this worked really well. The dining room has lovely views over the loch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saesnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#19 of 111 in Fort William
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
709 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#14 of 111 in Fort William
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#29 of 111 in Fort William
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlinnhe Guest House

Property: Ardlinnhe Guest House
Address: Ardlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ardlinnhe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing