We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners had thought of everything-brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The owners had thought of everything-brilliant!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are just back from an amazing 2 nite stay through 5pm deal! Husband, 4 year old daughter and I had a brilliant time. Just over 2 hours drive from Glasgow! The scenery was stunning! Couldnt fault the lodge we stayed in, No 4 at the end next to woods and little stream. All you needed to bring was your food & toiletries, they supplied dishwasher tablets, fairy, washing up cloth & sponges, all the utensils, crockery etc you could need! 3 bedrooms, the beds were so soft & comfy! There is a fab wee hut with games & dvds which we used, daughter loved connect 4! We will defo be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had a lovely weekend here after buying a voucher on 5pm.com. The lodges are better equipped than other cabins we've stayed in and included a wide range of kitchen utensils, hairdryer, travel cot, iron and ironing board, and there was also handsoap in the bathrooms.

Although the weather was cold, the heating in the lodge was more than adequate. The owner did, however, come round and asked if we needed extra heaters (which we didn't). The info lodge with a wide selection of DVDs, information, and board games was a nice touch.

The only downsides were the very soft mattresses on all the beds which were not great on our backs, and the sofa was also pretty uncomfortable as the springs had gone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spotted this in November on 5pm as a special offer and glad I did!

The cabins are located just outside Fort William and are easy to find just off the road opposite the Corran Ferry on the A82.

They are nicely furnished and really warm with a big comfy sofa and cosy beds and are spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need incl hair dryer iron etc and travel cot and high chair for babies... Saving loads of room in the boot!!

Nice touches include the wee cabin with a selection of DVDs and games for the kids and the free admission to the local hotel gym and pool - a godsend for a rainy day !

All in all - I would highly rate Birchbrae .... The only suggestion I could think of is possibly having a play ground for kids with a few swings etc but if your kids like the outdoors they will love a ramble in the woods surrounding so be sure to pack loads of outdoor gear!

We had a great time and will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gettupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at lodge 2 over the new year comfortable rooms had everything we needed from daytime walks taking in the beautiful scenery, towns a 10minute drive then at night the lodge has a lovely porch to sit on with cover also 2 bathrooms is always a bonus,provides DVDs books games and lots of information on activities at hand. My son especially enjoyed the little rivers and wildlife had amazing time can't fault it for anything a great place to bring in the new year.
Thanks for having us will defo be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonibee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at lodge number 1 with my husband and 2 grandaughters aged 13 and 10 in October 2012 and we all loved it! The lodge had everything you could ever want and was very warm and comfortable. It was spotlessly clean all over. The shed with the games/dvds/puzzle books/leaflets/menus was a great bonus for when the weather wasn't so good or for relaxing at night time. The free wi-fi was also a great bonus as we took our laptop and my grandaughters also used it on their phones/ipods etc. The leisure pass for the swimming/sauna/steam room and gym etc. was an excellent extra and we made the most of it through out the holiday, the swimming pool was very nice and provided you with towels, toiletries and hairdryers. Birchbrae is very centrally situated for days away and is only 10 minutes from Fort William. For those who like walking there are also many forest walks from the lodges. This was one of the best holidays we have been on and would definitely recommend Birchbrae lodges to anyone.

Room Tip: lodge number 1=perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked here last minute. Six of us were travelling up from Oxford, and for various reasons we'd had insufficient time to book any accommodation for our 8 day trip to Scotland, so we booked at Birchbrae initially with the intent of using it as a 1 or 2 night staging post before we moved on to Skye, Inverness and some other locations we had planned to visit. However after we arrived and found how perfectly equipped and well situated the cabins were, we realized that we could actually visit all those locations from here. So we ended up extending our stay for the full week before finally moving on to Edinburgh for our last night.

The location is great, and as mentioned the cabins are equipped to a very high standard. They are also extremely clean and comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay here at Birchbrae and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunnysidesideways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely, well equipped cabins just 10 mins drive away from Fort William. We were in Lodge 4 which was well furnished and had everything you could possibly need for a short break. Cabin was nice and warm (despite the November Highland air!), comfy beds and good showers made for a very relaxing break. Kitchen has everything you need (dishwasher/washing machine) and there's even a massive TV.

If you venture into the woods, you'll find great forestry commission walks just a wee wander away, but if the weather does gets the better of you, there's books/dvds/games provided in the information lodge, which is really thoughtful.

Would highly recommend the cabins for a peaceful weekend away.

Room Tip: Lodge 4 is the last one on the block so had uninterupted views of the woods from the kitchen and mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Pink_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
1.4 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
644 reviews
2.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 29 in Fort William
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Ardgour
Inn at Ardgour
#1 of 2 in Ardgour
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges

Property: Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges
Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchbrae Self Catering Hotel Fort William
Birchbrae Self Catering Lodges Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing