We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hostel with Great Kitchen Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little hostel with Great Kitchen Amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed 1 night in this lovely hostel with 4 other friends in a 5-bed bunk. I have to say its really rare to have a 5-bed bunk nowadays and the number just fit nicely. The staff was friendly and helpful in assisting us with our check in. He even offered to stayed after opening hours for reception for another guest that might be coming in late. Good service.

The room was just about right for 5 grown adults and it was nice and clean. We took the 5-bed room which was right at the top. I was expecting it to be dusty especially when we checked in really late, but there wasn't the case.

Two commendable points of this hostel was the toilets and the kitchen. There plenty of toilets (at least 4) in the 2nd floor and it was more than sufficient for a hostel this size. It was well maintained, the heat was working well and I had absolutely no complains. 5 of us could clean up in quick time and simply waste no time. I found out about how good the kitchen is only in the morning. Everything was neatly place and the variation of utensils and crockery available was fantastic. The kitchen was spacious and could easily handled more than 2-3 groups cooking.

The only complain about this place is the location. Its not as near to the city center of Fort WIlliam (at least a 5-10 mins drive, not walking distance) as I would like it to be. So it can be a little inconvenient. Still its a great hostel and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusfpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    81
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
27
24
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Mint hostel!!! had a really fun time here. on our second night here the two girls who work here were very friendly and chatty. oh and they were kind enough to offer some of their homemade brownies and scones to all the guests who were staying...which were soooo tasty. Only bad side is that unfortunately the guy was very abrupt and rude with us and spoke to us like we were 5 when we checked in. I would come back and stay here anytime. and ben nevis ROCKS!! :)

Room Tip: Smile :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimllfixit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed in this hostel when trekking the West Highland Way. Accommodation was very good, clean and affordable. Most important was the staff, they were very friendly and pleaseant. We look foward to staying in the near future.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Naz123Nuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed here a few weeks ago with a group of friends for a few nights. We climbed Ben Nevis the first day which was an experience and a half. The hostel was a great base for us, clean, great facilities and met some great people with similar interests. The female member of staff was particularly helpful and went out of her way to make sure we had a great time. She also recommended a fantastic wee place to go to for scottish music in the town 'skipinish ceilidh house' which we went to and enjoyed muchly. All in all would definitely go back to Fort William and would recommend this hostel to anyone who is going to explore the area. Only bad side was the midges!!

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huntergatherer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

The Hostel is awesome. Great facilities, located at an awesome place at the foot of Ben Nevis. Only a stones throw from the town. Therefore it offers peace and tranquil of the highlands, mixed with a taxi into town if you fancy trying out the nightlife. The staff are extremely welcoming and nice to talk to. Regular BBQ's when we went, which was brilliant. It's a MUST go if you are wanting to Hostel it in Fort William. I have stayed in many Hostels and i must honestly say this one is one of the best i have stayed at. 5 STARS!

Room Tip: Pre-Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonny_Felcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

My two friends and I had a great time here. The nice lady on reception invited us to a BBQ and we made a loads of friends here too.

The hostel was fully booked on our first night in Fort William, but they even found me another hostel to stay at... how nice is that?!

Clean, comfortable and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

staff were very helpfull on hiking routes, weather forcast and good value places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweety052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.0 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase The Wild Goose Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Property: Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chase The Wild Goose Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can now enjoy FREE Wi-Fi and BREAKFAST at this fantastic recently refurbished hostel near Ben Nevis. Great accommodation for walkers, climbers, backpackers and families. Enjoy a break to the Scottish Highlands. Be inspired by fantastic views of Ben Nevis. Take an evening walk along the banks of the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's Staircase. Above all, share your experiences with like-minded travelers. Quality hostel accommodation sleeping 42. Meals available nearby, with kitchen facilities in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chase The Wild Goose Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing