We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buccleuch Guest House
Ranked #11 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Due to nice rooms and very warm and charming welcome and service one of the best B&Bs we had through our one week journey through Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerold-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Buccleuch Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 309 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

The Buccleuch Guest House is a real find. The standard of accommodation, cleanliness and service could not be faulted at all. Lorna and Stuart went out of their way to make our stay something special. The choice at the breakfast table would put many a hotel to shame and the cooked breakfast was freshly made to order. The setting is just perfect and it is a short walk to the town centre. We really enjoyed having the opportunity to use the lounge in the evening to relax over a cuppa and a good book. We will certainly be returning to the Buccleuch and would not consider staying anywhere else! Our break was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hk1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Friendly welcome -tea and coffee always available - clean comfortable spacious rooms- warm - quality teabags, coffee and biscuits, nothing done on the cheap. Delicious breakfast eggs freshly poached or fried to order and lots of other breakfast choices on a well laid out table, in fact the best B& B we have ever stayed in . We were in a room at the back but could sit in the sitting room for the view. We had a very enjoyable stay and intend to return when we can. It is not cheap but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank posietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We recieved a very warm welcome from Lorna. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with beautiful views of the loch. Extra touches like a Box of Chocolates in the room to celebrate a birthday were very much appreciated.

Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice.

Buccleuch is perfectly situated to visit Fort William - a short walk to the town centre.

Staying in this beautiful house was one of the highlights of the break and the stay and service was much superior to alot of hotels I have stayed in.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestEnd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this beautiful guest house. Our view over the loch was stunning. The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. Lorna was the perfect host. The breakfast choice was great. Cooked breakfast was excellent. We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary when we were there and the bottle of chilled wine and special chocolates which Lorna and Stuart put in the room was a very thoughtful gesture and much appreciated. We intend returning to Fort William over christmas and hopefully we will stay in Bucchleuch again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackwoodMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

What a find! My partner and I were lucky enough to come across this delightful guest house on our trip to the Highlands.

The Victorian style accommodation has been thoughtfully restored with modern facilities to make an extremely comfortable stay. So, much so that we returned the following evening having planned to travel further North and celebrate our engagement at a ‘recommended’ boutique hotel which came nowhere close to the standards we had experienced at Buccleuch.

Thank you to all at Buccleuch for your warm hospitality. Our stay will always remain part of very special memories.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brist0l01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We were on a coach tour, so unfortunately only had one night with Lorna ! The room we had looked staight out onto Loch Linnie, fabulous room, very large and perfectly decorated.
Lorna's breakfast table was the best I have ever seen, I just wish I had taken a photo for you to see. It wasn't just cereals and fruit juices, it was a table with EVERYTHING you could ever imagine on it from Sultana fruit cakes to cereals, and that was before the cooked breakfast !
If you are ever going to Fort William, make a B Line to Lorna's.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
550 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch Guest House

Address: Buccleuch Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $138 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buccleuch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch Guest House Hotel Fort William
Buccleuch Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing