We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buccleuch Guest House
Ranked #12 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Upon arriving at Fort William the original accommodation was unsuitable for my disabled mother so we took some advice from the original hotel and found our way to this delightful guest house. Upon arrival we were lucky enough to find a room free that looked as if it would not be out of place in a home magazine, beautifully decorated and homely feel. We were able to take our time and enjoy the local custom, knowing that our nights sleep was not only guaranteed but so pleasant! The en-suite facilities were excellent and enjoyed a filling breakfast in the morning before heading on our way. Could not have asked for better! Warm and friendly (as were all of the hotel/B&B owners we talked to!), you are guaranteed a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mela80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 314 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2008

This is a well-maintained, upscale, attractive guest house on the main road into Ft. William. Our room at the front of the house, with a nice view of the loch, was large and nicely decorated. Though facing the busy road and right next to the entrance, our room was very quiet. The bathroom was exceptionally large, bright, and clean. Breakfast was the usual choice of a big Scottish fried breakfast, various other options from the kitchen, or yogurts and fruit, all served in an airy dining room with pretty views. Lorna was a pleasant hostess. We would highly recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolan_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Our second time at this wonderful place.
The guest house is located on the banks of Loch Linhe, and the view from our room was stunning. The room itself was very tastefully decorated,with a very large en suite. Lots of fresh,fluffy towels and complimentary toilettries to enjoy. Breakfast was served in the conservatory overlooking the loch. Plenty of choice to suit all. Our hostess was very welcoming, and more thsn happy to offer advice as we planned our excursions.
We will be going back to this lovely guest house, and will recommend to all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AngelMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Beautiful place with a wonderful view of the Loch. There were 8 of us staying and all was very smooth. Our room was really nicely decorated, and included Coffee (instant) and tea. A hairdryer was also included. The room was good sized as was the bathroom (ensuite).

The house also had wireless internet! A very nice plus for me.

Breakfast was nice -

Overall a very nice place to stay, and we would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We only spent one night at Buccleuch Guest House and were sorry our planned Itiniary did not allow a longer stay.

Buccleuch is convenient y placed on the Loch side with a great view from the front rooms and the comfortable guest sitting room - a great place to relax after a busy day in the Highlands before popping into the village just along the road for dinner.

The room was a decent size and beautifully furnished - the bed comfortable and the en suite smart and spotless.

Breakfast well cooked and served in a beautiful light filled conservatory .

Clean, very comfortable, and great view - what more could you want.

Alan and Sue
Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bigal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Beautiful view from the property. Nice looking B&B with a very friendly host.

Comfy rooms. Beautifully decorated and nice furnishings. Good breakfast in the morning.

Check-in was easy and there was plenty of parking available.

Located just down the road from Ft. William proper.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aacree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We arrived late in the afternoon to a very warm welcome from the owner, who told us everything we needed to know about the B&B, and recommended a good restaurant for dinner.

The rooms are just as lovely as the website shows, and although the house is on the main road, it’s set back a little, and has double glazing, so no noise. We had the room at the front (room 1?) on the ground floor, and the view to Loch Linnhe was really beautiful. The room itself was spacious, nicely decorated, with a big comfy bed, and clean bright ensuite.

It was an easy, flat, 5-10 minute walk to the centre of the town, so no need to take the car out of the onsite car park.

Breakfast in the morning was also lovely, with a number of different cereals choices, fruit and a full cooked breakfast, all very pleasantly delivered.

A very nice stay, and we would love to return; next time it'll be for a little longer.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ComoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
509 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#4 of 111 in Fort William
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch Guest House

Address: Buccleuch Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $67 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buccleuch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch Guest House Hotel Fort William
Buccleuch Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing