We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buccleuch Guest House
Ranked #11 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dadeville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Fort William, in of itself, is simply terrific. Arriving at this guesthouse just made us SMILE! The owners are just the nicest couple you ever met. We lost our power converter and within five minutes there were two converters for us to chose from while we were there! Suggested daytrips kept us from fumbling through leaflets trying to decide what was the best to do.
The room was spacious and well lit (hooray) clean and comfy.
The view from breakfast room was soothing and lovely; we watched weather change up and down the loch; it was spellbinding.
Breakfast was very good, and I don't believe the owners could have been any kinder.
Loved Buccleuch!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abclsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    26
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
207
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Buccleuch Guest House is lovely, it is very comfortable with well equipped guest rooms we stayed in room 2 which had lovely views across Loch Linnhe to the snow capped hills beyond. It's a very short walk into the town. For breakfast there was an array of cereal, fruit, yogharts etc and of course a choice of cooked which was delicious. The hosts were very friendly and I would not hesitate to recommend this to family and friends and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomsonsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Buccleuch Guest House was older but very clean and the breakfast was good and a typical Scottish breakfast. We loved the view which looked over Loch Linnhe. The proprietor was very nice and he even drew us a map so that we wouldn't miss anything while we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over Loch Linnhe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

From the moment we stepped into this lovely b&b we knew we had chosen well. After pressing the bell upon entry, Lorna greeted us & showed us our room and where we'd be eating in the morning. We stayed in room 2 which was on the first floor & had great views over the loch. The room was very spacious & well presented. It had a nicely appointed en-suite & a good pressured shower. We made it downstairs for the earlier breakfast & there was a side table set-up with a great selection of muffins, cereal, fruit & other goodies. We both ordered the cooked breakfast which was very tasty & filling. All in all a great stay (except for the weather) & would recommend to anyone staying in Fort William.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a loch view, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a beautiful room on the second floor with a view of Loch Linnhe. The bed was very comfortable and the room was large and spotless. We enjoyed meeting other guests in the common room on the main level. Lorna and Stewart are excellent hosts - very friendly and helpful. We did not have a car so Stewart offered to drive us to the train station - much appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great loch view room just across the road from the loch. I saw an otter heading into the loch in the morning.
Spotless room and ensuite. Large double room with quality fittings and furnishings and bedlinen. Very comfortable bed. Complimentary bottled water, biscuits and good quality teabags. Working wi fi and good t.v.
Powerful shower and lots of hot water , plenty of good quality towels and good quality toilet rolls and accessories.
Lovely cooked breakfast and the offer of more toast. Properly made pot of tea , poached eggs , crisp bacon and good black pudding.
Friendly helpful owner who gave me excellent information about where to have dinner and whether I required to book a restuarant.
Best B & B I've stayed in.

Room Tip: I looked into 2 unoccupied rooms and they also looked great. However , try and get a loch view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

If i owned a B&B it would be a replica of this place. I have travelled the world quite a bit and stayed in some pretty nice places but this is up there with the best of them. Stayed here for 1 night and we had two rooms and both were of incredibly high standard. We were treated impeccably from
the minute we arrived. The breakfast was huge and very tasty. The value for money was fantastic and felt embarrased paying so little especially compared to the other places we stayed whilst travelling through Scotland. Stay in room 1 which has great views and is very spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch Guest House

Property: Buccleuch Guest House
Address: Buccleuch Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Buccleuch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch Guest House Hotel Fort William
Buccleuch Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing