We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place near the Caledonian Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenshian Guesthouse
Ranked #44 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice little place near the Caledonian Canal”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Glenys was a great host here in this small B&B just outside of Fort William. Honestly would rather stay outside the city to avoid the traffic and this was the perfect place. It is literally feet from the Canal and gives great views of Ben Nevis from the sun room. Breakfast was good and service was great. Glenys served us some coffee and cookies (biscuits) after we came back from a long day of hiking.

The price was right at under 70 GBP a night. I suppose the only downside was the size of the room which was quite small. The bed was extremely comfortable however. I would recommend this place in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3monthsineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
91
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longniddry, East lothian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I have been a regular visitor for over 10 years, so Glenys is definitely doing something (actually lots of 'somethings') right. A stay at Glenshian never fails to impress, whether you're there for one night or several. Yes, it's comfortable, yes the breakfast is excellent, but you'll spend most of your time like I do, in the conservatory looking out the window at the view. Watch the birds in the garden, the boats on the Caledonian canal (at the bottom of the garden) or the ever-changing, and uninterrupted, view of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor.
Really, why would we go anywhere else?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We were back at Glenshian for the the 3rd year in a row, and as always everything was perfect. Eavery time we leave to return home my wife is in tears because she loves the place so much.

Perfectly situated on the Caledonian canal with an amazing view of the Nevis range, and a lovely garden with a stream running through it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_plus_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Test Valley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Called at door one evening in 2001 to stay for 1 night, ended up staying a week and have been back every year since.View is amazing, landlady more than helpful, breakfast choice is fabulous. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buntyTestValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Glenys is an excellent host, it's amazing that no matter what time you arrive or return from a day out, the kettle is always hot - sometimes coffee and cake is on the table before you get inside.
Breakfasts are excellent, don't expect to need lunch.
We've been going, sometimes twice a year for about 8 years, the bedrooms are very comfortable and the lounge and conservatory make Glenshian a home from home.
It's in the perfect location for sightseeing and isn't too far from Fort William. The views of Ben Nevis are breathtaking!
Now there are three of us it's still no problem, Glenys is an honorary aunty to our daughter.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roons_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Glenys for 1 night in May while driving around Scotland for a week. Her warm welcome, relaxed and friendly manner and a reviving cup of tea set the tone for the rest of the stay. We particularly enjoyed the view of the garden, canal and Ben Nevis from our bedroom and also the conservatory while enjoying the delicious breakfast. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and there is a roomy guest lounge room with TV as well. We found a good pub for dinner at the end of the road and enjoyed the stroll back to the Guest House along the canal afterwards. It would be great if all B&B's were this good.

  • Liked — Friendly reception,cleanliness and views
  • Disliked — Not a lot of room for suitcases
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numansdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

What a lovely place !!
When we arrived we were welcomed with tea and coffee with very nice Scottish biscuits (we were pleasantly surprised by this).
Nice decorated and clean rooms and bathrooms with good beds and a lovely view from the "serre" and garden were you can privatly sit as long as you want.
We loved the place and did not like to go away after only 1 night. So we are definetly coming back !!
Thank you for youre hospitality we enjoyed this memorable stay!
Don't miss it when you are in the area!!

  • Liked — The friendlyness and the great view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanDelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#25 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thistle Cottage
Thistle Cottage
#2 of 5 in Torlundy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#24 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
3.3 mi away
Morvich B&B
Morvich B&B
#11 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshian Guesthouse

Property: Glenshian Guesthouse
Address: Glenshian Glenshian Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenshian Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our peaceful country home, set on the banks of the Caledonian Canal and only three miles from Fort William where you can come and unwind in the Highlands of Scotland, breathe the fresh mountain air and relax in this family run 4* bed and breakfast. Guests can enjoy the Highlands at any time of the year as each season has something to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenshian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenshian Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing