We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenshian Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just what other reviewers have said. A perfect B&B in a perfect location. Would not consider staying anywhere else in Fort William. We were starting a cycle tour and it proved to be a great place for arriving with bikes by train (Banavie) and then setting off with a hearty breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloudyblue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi to you both, Thank you for writing your review. Pleased our home and hospitality gave you a good start to you cycle trip. See you again sometime with your bikes to explore more of the local area. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here a few times and will recommend to everyone. clean, comfy cozy and very,very good value. helpful owners who have good knowledge of area and where to go, what to see. beautiful location, fantastic scenery .
wonderful breakfast, plenty of choice and beautifully presented, quickly and nice and hot.
tea and biscuits on arrival is very welcome after a long drive. lovely toiletries in the bathroom that are locally produced.
you will stay once and keep going back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buntyTestValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thanks for writing your review. We know you have stayed with us many times and we thoroughly enjoy your company. Have recently made some more Rhubarb and Ginger Jam as supplies were a little low after you left. See you in December. Regards Glenys, Iain and Beja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 19th Sept 2013. The guest house is spotless and the owners Ian and Glynnis are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. Beds very comfy. The view from the back garden in the conservatory is stunning. The canal, boats and ducks add to the beauty. I highly recommend this guest house. The breakfast was lovely and filling.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi to you all. Thanks for writing your review. It is much appreciated. Hope your canoe trip went well. The weather was quite kind to you. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here at the start of our walk along the Great Glen Way, fantastic location on the route with views of Ben Nevis. Very clean and modern, the owners were very friendly. Had an excellent sleep due to the comfortable bed and quiet location. Guests have the use of a very nice lounge and conservatory. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day's walk. The owners advised us where we could get an evening meal, I would definitely recommend this guest house, one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi to you both, Thank you for writing your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the start of walking the Great Glen Way. We are ideally situated for this, especially when you can have an evening meal close-by, which you found out. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have now stayed at Glenshian with Glenys and Iain 3 times and it just gets better and better. Not only do you get a warm welcome on arrival with a nice pot of tea and biscuits, you get it ever day when you get back from the day's trip. All the accommodation is to the highest standards. There are a number of excellent places close by to eat, for some of which you are given a 10% off voucher. The breakfasts are particularly good with lots of choice, much home made and all freshly cooked. Breakfast is taken in the conservatory with a superb view across the Caledonian Canal to Ben Nevis, Carn Mor Dearg, and Aonach Mor, as a hill walker views don't get better than that!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi to you both, Thanks for putting 'pen to paper' it is much appreciated and gives future guests a feel for the place which can be difficult when there is so much choice. Especially liked the photo from the conservatory on the last morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon. As you know there is plenty to do in the area. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are two Canadian couples who stayed at the Glenshian in late August. We were greeted warmly by Glenys and Ian and immediately asked if we wanted tea, which we declined because we needed supper. They suggested The Moorings Hotel just a short and interesting walk along the locks behind the b&b. The Moorings menu and food was good. I connected to wifi there.
The menu at the Glenshian had many good items to choose from. We enjoyed the fish cakes and eggs. The rooms were a nice size and clean. A really nice attraction here is the beautiful sunroom to eat breakfast and the sitting room available to guests. Ian and Glenys had the sitting room warmed up for us when we returned from a rainy day at Skye. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ss987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi to you all. Thank you for writing your review. It is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the warmth of the multi-fuel stove. It is very welcoming on a damp and dreary day. A bit like today!!. The colours of the hills are starting to change so things look even more beautiful. Thanks again. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a wonderful B&B. Ian and Glenys welcome you with genuine warmth and a cup of tea.
Nothing is too much trouble they freely offer advice of places to visit, restaurants to go to etc. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and have just been refurbished to a very high standard. The breakfast is held in the conservatory which overlooks the Caledonian Canal and a wonderful view of Ben Nevis. The breakfast menu is extensive made all the more special by tasting Glenys's outstanding home made preserves and muesli. We are now confirmed season ticket holders and will be returning at regular intervals.

Room Tip: The Fern room looks out onto the Ben and is very quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi to you both, Thanks for writing the review. Sorry it has taken a little while to respond. Have been very busy. It is a little quieter now so can catch up. Haven't forgotten about the recipe. Your comments about the house and hospitality are so kind. You are welcome back anytime you can get away. Perhaps we will see you later in the year. Regards Glenys and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
620 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 33 in Fort William
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshian Guesthouse

Address: Glenshian Glenshian Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $37 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenshian Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our peaceful country home, set on the banks of the Caledonian Canal and only three miles from Fort William where you can come and unwind in the Highlands of Scotland, breathe the fresh mountain air and relax in this family run 4* bed and breakfast. Guests can enjoy the Highlands at any time of the year as each season has something to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenshian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenshian Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing