We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful b and b”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Guest House
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2007

cannot fault anything, beautiful rooms, clean, good breakfast and great location...can be highly praised. and a lovely hostess.
only suggestion is to provide a guest lounge would be nice as there is not one :(
there is some rubbishy old hotels in fort william so i am glad we stayed here!
the fish restaurant on the pier is good and everyone was very friendly.
the steam train trip to mallaig is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rog747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 858 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in a double ensuite room at £65 a night. The location of the B&B is amazing right on the Loch side. The house is in very good condition and very clean. The room we had was at the front of the house with large bed, wardrobe, and dresser units. Tea and coffee facilites were in the room. The room was cleaned daily and to a very high standard.

Breakfast was freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of toast, as well as cereals to chooses from. The food was very good quality.

Plenty of private parking and a 2 min wark to the centre of Fort William.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank matthewvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

After a 3 hour journey from Edinburgh through the stunning scenery of the Highlands, my girlfriend and I arrived in Fort William under pouring rain.

When we entered the B&B the owner came out and with a very theatrical sigh said "I'm afraid there's some bad news; the room you have asked for is double-booked for tonight. But it is available for tomorrow should you still want it". Having faced the same situation in Edinburgh, less than 24 hours before, I struggled to keep my temper but I managed. She went on to say that she had another room -one of her cheapest- but not en suite of course. Well, if we wanted such a room we would have asked for it from the beginning, right? Anyway she had managed to book another room in a friend's new business, where everything was new and blah blah. We set off and found the place, only to discover that there was no toilet bowl in the tiny bathroom. He also try to sell us a story that went like so:

"Everything's so busy, that people had to sleep in jail cells last night. I'll be full in 5 min after you're gone". (readers can draw their own conclusions...)

So we set off and spent an extra two hours in the car looking for a room in a packed Fort William, under the rain. We did find something decent in the end, but after much search and exhaustion.

I wouldn't recommend Myrtle Bank for the simple reason that the owner did leave the matter simply at her mistake. To us it looked like there was this agreement to help this other guy's new business. I regret not having left a number for her to contact me (not that she asked for one anyway). I should have known better. Well, I'm sorry, but I will pay for what I want and not for what B&B owners decide between them and then wait for guests to travel for hours and take advantage of their tiredness and need for shelter.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Wire_n_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

My husband, Michael and I stayed at the Myrtle Bank Guest House for 2 nights, July 24th and 25th, 2007. It was lovely. Dora and her staff do everything right. Dora went out of her way for us.
We highly recommend this Guest House. Michael & Judy Himberger, Boston, MA , USA

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JudyMichael53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

i agree with everyone else. we had a smaller room in the back of the building and it was just as beautiful. elegant furniture, beautiful wallpaper, the furniture is very updated looks brand new, polished wood, shiny, etc. our bathroom was a bit small with a shower stall only which is what we needed. they provide a small amount of toiletries, shampoo, soaps, hand pump soap. the room smells good too! the bathroom and bedroom were sparkling clean, brand new plush red carpet, good tv channels, the room warmed up after 5pm though. clean linens, and we paid only 25 pounds per person (they only accept cash). the hotel is right on the main road off A82 when you are driving along loch linnhe. just look for the sign and drive slow. very close to town center. GREAT breakfast. comfy bed and pillows. lots of room to store clothes, tea/cofee making facilities, hairdryer. definitely would stay there again! 5 star quality room/feel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

A group of us stayed here a couple of weekends ago. For the price (£30 pppn) it was an excellent choice. Beautiful setting, lovely rose garden, clean rooms, excellent service, tasty breakfast. More a hotel tha a B&B. Would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Harrogate, UK
14
Reviewed May 12, 2006

While travelling in Scotland last month (April 2006), we had the pleasure of staying at the Myrtle Bank Guest House in Fort William, which is run by the lovely Mrs. Dora Mount view of the lake as well as easy access to the town centre. The Myrtle Bannk Guest House consists of two quant Victorian houses with elegant and tasteful furnishings. We were very impressed by our room (#6), which is extremely spacious and provides a gorgeous of the Loch. The room is very clean and furnished with beautiful furniture. The massive built-in wood closets along with plenty of drawers underneath the dresser are a welcomed convenience. The bathroom is enormous complete with a separate bathtub and shower. We were especially delighted by the shower's powerful water pressure which is often difficult to find in European lodgings. This B&B is a true gem, especially for the reasonable rate it charges. We had an enchanting time at the Myrtle Bank Guest House and would hightly recommend it to any travellers heading to Fort William.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#8 of 21 in Fort William
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Guest House

Address: Myrtlebank Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Guest House Hotel Fort William
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Myrtle Bank Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing