We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An idyllic sanctity! And a very lucky find...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An idyllic sanctity! And a very lucky find...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place is perhaps one of the best places we have stayed yet. If you not a backpacker and are looking for some comfort look no further.

I work in hospitality, which sadly does make you rather fussy, but I could not find any fault with this find.

We booked huntingtower lodge as we wanted to spend a few days skiing in Scotland - we ski abroad twice per year but with the snow thought we would pop north for a short break. Standard of Scottish skiing, unfortunately the winds stopped us getting on the slopes. Thankfully this was almost a blessing given our stunning digs and super hosts in Jackie and Chris.

We are rather active people but spent more time than normal relaxing in our beautiful room with sitting room overlooking the sea loch and stunning hills from our enormous windows. We watched DVDs provided by huntingtower, drove the glens and enjoyed excellent food.

Strongly recommend the Loch Leven Seafood Cafe - I'm not a seafood fan and even I loved it. The breakfasts at the b&b are also amazing with lots of wholesome, healthy options.

Book a short break here, you certainly won't regret it. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you Jenscots for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with you both and hope that the bad weather won't prevent you from having another go at hitting the slopes here in the Highlands, when the weather is right there is now better place to be. We are delighted that your accommodation here at Huntingtower Lodge made up for the disappointing lack of skiing.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed The Loch Leven Seafood Cafe so much, it is one of our favourite places to eat too.

Take care and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
329
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Three nights in bliss. The most amazing views over Loch Linnhie from the biggest bedroom windows. The bedroom was HUGE and comfortable. Breakfast was served with tables looking across the loch and our hosts couldn't have been more friendly. When we mentioned our wedding plans for August 2014 and asked if we could see the rooms we were shown the whole house with The Waterfall Suite taking our breath away. Cant wait to stay there for our wedding. Our hosts were very helpful and informative and have continued to be of help with suggestions for our wedding since we returned home. If you stay in Fort William then this is the place that will make you want to come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you Robb W for yor lovely review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are very excited that you have chosen to stay in The Waterfall Suite for your wedding and are looking forward to seeing you both again later in the year. I hope all is going well with your wedding plans and you know where we are if you need any further help. Fingers crossed for some fantastic Highland sunshine on your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Having seen the reviews of this 'eco-chic' B&B online we had quite high expectations - as it happened, Chris and Jackie's beautiful home far exceeded them! From the warm welcome and tea on arrival to the tasty and perfectly presented breakfast (with loch view) Huntingtower Lodge proved to be the ideal location for a romantic New Year's mini-break. Chris and Jackie's attention to detail (I mean, where else do you get bird books and binoculars at breakfast?) coupled with their intimate knowledge and love of the local area really helped us to get the best out of out short stay. It is quite simply impossible to fault this home from home in the Highlands. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you very much Jonathon S for your lovely comments, we really do appreciate it when our guests take time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with with us, we love our home and the local area and enjoy sharing it with our guests. It was a pleaure to meet you both and I hope that you made it to Glasgow in time for the concert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Huntingtower Lodge is an outstanding b&b in Fort William. Chris and Jackie are fantastic hosts and run an excellent hideaway to enjoy some time out. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon around Europe. Our room was cosy and we loved relaxing in the comfortable chairs in our room looking out through our windows to the loch. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of yummy food to choose from and brought to your table in the lounge overlooking the loch. Chris suggested a great local seafood restaurant which he booked for us and was so good we visited twice. We had free wifi for catching up on any emails or skype. Chris and Jackie go above and beyond with their guests from thoughtful little touches - leaving wine and wedding card in our room to welcome us to making suggestions for places to visit over breakfast. We would highly recommend this b&b for a relaxing stay in the Highlands. Thank you Chris and Jackie for a wonderful stay and highlight during our honeymoon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Macsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much Macsisters for another lovely review. We were delighted that you chose to return to Huntingtower Lodge for your honeymoon, it was such a pleasure to see you again and to meet your new husband.

We do our best to ensure that our guests have a relaxing stay with us and the views from the windows certainly make our job easier, it is very easy to lose time gazing at the scenery. I'm glad that you enjoyed the Loch Leven restaurant so much, it is one of our favourites.

Chris and I wish you both a long and happy marriage and hope to welcome you back here before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

First let me begin the review by pointing out that the weather during our stay in October was superb! However, even it it had been pouring down rain the time spent at Huntingtower Lodge would have been as excellent. Chris and Jackie could not have been more helpful. The rooms we had were beautifully kept, the linens sparkling and the attention to detail without compare! The views were magnificent, the breakfast mouthwatering, and Chris was a font of local information - we did get to see red squirrels, Chris, and many of them! We will be back and, to all those looking on TripAdvisor, you cannot go wrong with spending time here.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent - for romance though go for The Waterfall Suite - lots of room with gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much elfdin for your review. You were certainly very lucky with the weather and The Highlands look so beautiful in autumn sunshine especially from the steam train. I'm not sure that we can lay on such perfect weather, and dophins in the loch, should you return to Huntingtower Lodge but we will do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the waterfall suite it is fabulous the attention to detail is second to none we cannot think of one thing we did not like. The breakfast in the morning overlooking the loch was lovely and the best porridge I had anywhere in Scotland. The only downside to our stay was not being able to stay longer. Many thanks for a great stay we will definately think more about the enviroment and being greener after staying with you. Nina & John Taylor

Room Tip: The waterfall suite is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flirtyfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you very much flirtyfrogs for taking time to write us such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the porridge. We have just changed to our winter menu and if you can get back up to the Highlands this winter you could try our sultana and cinnamon porridge served with cream and brown sugar, it's going down very well with our guests at the moment.

It's good to know that we can inspire our guests to think about being a bit greener. It takes a bit of thought to begin with but can very easily become a way of life.

We were sorry that you could n't stay longer too, there is so much to do in the area and Fort William is such a good base for exploring the Highlands and Islands. Haste ye back as we say up here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in The Waterfall Suite at the start of our tour of the Hebrides. Our journey up from London was scuppered by Air France and we missed our train from Edinburgh - we arrived after 10pm in Fort William and we weren't able to collect our hire car. Having notified Jackie in advance she said that someone would collect us from the station and indeed we were picked up by Chris & Jackie's son. That was a most welcomed gesture.

Room was very nice and spacious (lounge, bedroom, bathroom, dressing room) with great views to the Loch, the waterfall in the back garden and the sparrow hawk roosting in a tree next door. The bed was perhaps a little soft for my taste but that aside the accommodation was good.

Breakfasts were lovely and Chris and Jackie were able to cater for us a little early on one day. The scrambled eggs are recommended.

The guest house is less than 5 mins drive from centre of Fort William and an excellent base for touring. Glen Coe is definitely worth a visit!!

If you want a warm friendly welcome and a comfortable stay look no further than Huntingtower Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrZapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you MrZapp for taking time to write us such a positive review. You certainly had a prolonged journey up to The Highlands, it was no problem to come and pick you up from the station and I hope it made the end of a long day a little easier for you. I'm sorry to hear that you found the bed in the suite a little soft but, as I'm sure you will appreciate, it is difficult to find a bed that suits everyone.The eggs that you enjoyed at breakfast are from local free range hens delivered weekly from a local smallholder, they are so fresh and it is always a pleasure to cook with them.

The Sparrow Hawk is still causing havoc with the small birds in the area and only recently our neighbour saw it scoop up a bird that was lying on the ground stunned after it had flown in to her window!

I hope that you both enjoyed the rest of your trip in Scotland and that we may see you back at Huntingtower Lodge some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
3.9 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Property: Huntingtower Lodge
Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing