We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gold star!”
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntingtower Lodge
Ranked #3 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Gold star!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are reading this, still wondering weather you want to go and stay there, stop thinking and book it! I stayed there with my partner for a week and we loved it. Luxurious breakfast, comfortable and soft bed, amazing view from our room, spotless house....one wouldn't want to leave! The owners, Jackie and Chris are absolutely lovely and alway willing to help out with the ideas and suggestions about where to go, what to do and most importantly where are the best places to eat.
I'm already planning my next trip up there!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sash78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
335
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Beautifully done. House is in a good location, with excellent lake views. As we were on foot, Chris offered us a lift in to the centre of Fort William to find an evening meal. We stayed in the light airy attic room, which has its own fabulous bathroom. The room was lovely, warm and exceptionally clean and with blissfully comfortable beds. Breakfasts are delicious. What sets this B&B apart for me is the owners,Chris and Jackie, who offer such a warm and knowledgeable welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I actually can't commend this place enough! We stayed here for two nights at the start of a wee tour of Scotland and couldn't have had a more comfortable or enjoyable time. We stayed in the spacious Waterfall suite - a real home from home with fantastic views over Loch Linnhe. Chris was fantastic as a host - warm and welcoming and happy to provide any information about the local area that we needed. High points of the visit were: an astonishingly varied breakfast menu for a B&B (all cooked perfectly, to order); local toiletries from the Highland soap company in Spean Bridge; home-made shortbread in a little jar in the room and the scent of this cooking, I think, as we came in on our second day; very green-orientated with the room and guest lounge/breakfast area having binoculars to help spot the plentiful wildlife; guest lounge amply stocked with maps, books, games and lots of DVDs.

Once again, I can't recommend Huntingtower Lodge enough. If you are looking for somewhere to stay near to Fort William, look no further.

Room Tip: Waterfall Suite very spacious with bedroom, lounge area, dressing room and bathroom with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RImrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Beautifully and warmly appointed in contemporary style, exceptionally clean, spacious, light, and airy. We stayed in the peaked 'attic' room with its own mini-fridge, free wi-fi, lots of windows facing onto the loch, and overall a great large room with bed, seating area, and large bath. The toiletries are local, organic, and wonderful. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, made-to-order with many choices. We tried different dishes everyday and every one was knockout good. The hosts are very friendly and made great recommendations for where to hike, eat, get drinks, continue our journey north, and all. This is one of the best B&B experiences we have had anywhere in the world; we really loved our stay and would definitely return. A welcome retreat and escape from the busy world!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Really great B&B. Stayed in the twin room with a friend to do some hill walking round Ben Nevis. Chris & Jackie are a really friendly and welcoming couple, great hospitality. Knowledgable about the hills and local wildlife and they have a passion for sustainability in their B&B. Comfortable room, nice bathroom and good breakfasts.

The single negative is they don't accept children so that scuppers by idea of bringing the family back another time. Still, no children may be a positive for some and did nothing to affect the 5* I've given.

Room Tip: They all look good. Try to get a view of the loch at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amd484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in the wonderful Waterfall Suite. It has an immaculate lounge area furnished with leather settees and joy of joys, a rocking chair. Large Velux windows give superb views across Loch Linnhe to the hills beyond. Binoculars are thoughtfully provided. In addition to viewing nature there is a flat screen digital TV with integral DVD player. You can borrow from a wide range of DVDs including opera. The bedroom is beautifully appointed and overlooks the rear garden in which a picturesque little wooden bridge crosses a stream. This flows over a small waterfall. The pristine bathroom has shower and bidet. On the other side of the bedroom there is a dressing room with ample hanging and drawer space, a small fridge and tea/coffee-making facilities. Fresh milk and a wide selection of hot drink options are set out, not to mention the scrumptious shortbread. Breakfast is served in the lounge which has huge picture windows looking out on the bird-populated front garden and the loch beyond. The food is delicious, cooked to perfection, and the choice extensive. There are lots of books in the lounge relevant to the area, its features and Scottish culture in general. The owners, Chris and Jackie Clifford are friendly, welcoming and professional. This guesthouse has won an award for being run on ‘green ‘principles. There is a solar water-heating system, the house is insulated to the highest standards and every opportunity is taken to recycle and make best use of resources. Huntingtower Lodge shows you can do environmental-friendly with comfort and style.

Thanks again Jackie and Chris.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Huntington Tower Lodge is brilliantly run by Chris and Jackie. Each stay is superb - starting with the warm welcome and tea/coffee & scones in the bright spacious living area. We stayed in The Studio for its dedicated parking space right next to your own entrance, the mini fridge, large and very comfortable bed, your own separate sitting room with spectacular views over Loch Linnhe - plus you have another entrance/exit into the breakfast and living room for the whole B&B for breakfast or just to borrow cds and dvds for your own system next door. They pay great attention to detail and have a very well furnished and equipped B&B – a luxury breakfast starts your day perfectly. Nothing is too much trouble including lifts into Fort William and even providing champagne glasses for our celebratory drink.

Room Tip: The studio room has its own entrance and own parking space which makes it more convenient and privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Property: Huntingtower Lodge
Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingtower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing