We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - but with a room temperature problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've spent well over 100 nights in Premier Inns around the country - and this was the first negative experience which almost led me to write a seriously poor review. My wife and I were staying here at the mid-point of a steam train tour of the Western Highlands. Our party - about 60 in all - checked in mid-afternoon (reasonably efficiently, though not quite as efficiently as at the Glasgow hotel we stayed in on the other two nights). We came back at about 9 pm after a trip on the Mallaig line. The room temperature was 22.5 degrees - far warmer than we like for a restful sleep, so I turned off the heater and set the thermostat to 18.5. Useless! The thermostat has a notice on it to say 'this cannot cool the room'. They're not joking! During the night the temperature rose to 24 degrees and stayed there, despite opening the window as far as it would go (about one inch) and having the small (but rather noisy) portable fan on for two hours. (The outside temperature was at least 10 degrees lower all this time. Late September and damp.) We eventually slept OK (it was certainly quiet) but I was very disappointed by the inability to open the window to allow in a good flow of cooling air. In our Glasgow hotel the window was also constrained but did allow a good flow of air - and the Glasgow hotel also had an small but efficient a/c unit to control the temperature.

Anyway, the next day we had a very good breakfast (the staff coping - just - with the needs of 60 odd people wanting to eat at the same time) and set off to join our train. Discussing the hotel with a couple of fellow passengers I was amazed to hear that they had the opposite experience - their room was only 16.5 degrees when they entered and struggled to get to 18.5 degrees. Their room faced the same way as ours (away from the car park) but was on the ground floor - whereas ours was on the upper floor. So maybe there is a serious lack of heat insulation between the two floors?

Anyway, I still think that Whitbread ought to think hard about the redesigning at least the windows in this hotel. There is no need for such a narrow aperture when the Glasgow place works well with a much more generous provision of ventilation. See the photos!

Room Tip: If you prefer a cool room, stick to the ground floor, I think!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William V, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the temperature in your room and the size of the window. You have left some very constructive feedback and I will be sure to consider this as well as pass it on to head office.

It was nice to hear you enjoyed your breakfast in the morning and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the restaurant team.

I apologise once again that you did not fully enjoy your stay and please feel free to contact the hotel direct if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Typical Premier Inn standards. No issues with room.
Good location - 5 min walk past Train Station and underpass onto main street.

Large enough car park and decent sized spaces for once which is always nice, so no issues getting parked.

Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly throughout. Never spent much time in hotel though due to busy schedule for the 2 days. Had breakfast at Morrisons café across road one day as cheaper option than hotel itself. I think many others had same idea as there was queue at the café as soon as it opened at 9am on the Sunday.
30mins free Wi-Fi each day was enough to quickly check a few things and plan for the next leg of our journey.

Would I return – Yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRUEBLUE_BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Room was just OK. Staff was great , very helpful and friendly. Beds & pillows not great, lumpy and real comfy. The room & bath were very clean.. Not our 1st choice but did the job.. The food next door was just ok but again the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William V, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your most recent stay at the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the pillows and mattress did not meet your standards on this occasion. I will review this with the Housekeeping Manager and make any necessary changes.

I am delighted to hear that the team were great and I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

I apologise once again you did not fully enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The usual Premier Inn good quality. Reasonable parking and views of the mountains. Clean spacious comfortable rooms.
Downside - not the most salubrious location with a strong smell of fried food pervading everything

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William V, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed the views of Ben Nevis.

I will review the comment you made about the smell of fried food near the hotel, as this is not something brought up before.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good clean hotel, nice beds, large room. (134). We walked up Ben Nevis so a good nights sleep before and after was essential.mthe hotel is very near to the station. Modern and not full of old junk furniture (unlike so e other b&bs. Handy to know that the hotel is very near to McDonald's (breakfast), Morrisons and also lidl. If you don't want to eat in a restaurant then these are good for alternatives. Nice staff and clean.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bikebluegary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William V, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

It was nice to hear you enjoyed the layout of the room and the many amenities near the hotel during your stay.

I hope you had a great trip walking up Ben Nevis and if there is anything I can do to make your next stay even better please do not hesitate to ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, well situated for city centre and train station. It has a good pub attached, with good food and breakfast. There is a supermarket across the road for groceries that also does breakfast. The only downside is I think it is a little pricey at 80 pounds per night, considering it doesnt include breakfast. Staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a little trouble finding the place but stopped at a petrol station and they helped us. Once there we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Internet was a little slow especially considering we had to pay for it after the first 30 minutes. The room was very clean and well appointed, a little warm but with no central air I guess that is hard to control. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,041 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Fort William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Fort William Hotel

Address: An Aird Road | Loch Iall, Fort William PH33 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
#6 Family Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $62 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Fort William Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Fort William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel Fort William
Fort William Premier Inn
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing