We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay - again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I have stayed at the hotel 3 tims in the last year and found the hotel to be accomodating and the staff friendly.

They are currently in the process of renovation so some rooms are finished to a higher standard than others.They have a fantastic family room with 2 double beds and 1 set of bunk beds so ideal for larger families.

Location is just on the outskirts of Fort William on the road to Glenfinnan and Inverness. Ideal location for the Aonach Mor gondola.

The leisure club has a great pool with steam rooma nd suana so very good for unwinding after a tough day on the mountain.

I would reccomend this as a good base for exploring the western highlands.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4mrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 999 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed it despite the cold outdoor walk to our bedroom in the Annex.We also had to get an extra heater as it was bitter cold and it was provided within an hour of arriving.Most of the staff were excellent but a very miserable and bad mannered waitress did upset several guests who were with our coach, so look out for her.I hasten to add we tipped one waiter who was fab Claudie.
Great coach driver called Ritchie too.
We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Its bad the food is bad but the health club is OK. It needs a revamp. Hotels like this make Scotland look like a third word country.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckypumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Jaded, dirty, cold, tiny rooms, hopeless disinterested staff. This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The whole place is filthy, the food was disgusting, constant noise all night, right beside the very busy a82 with bedroom windows that wont close properly. The whole bedroom just felt grubby, I wasnt even convince the sheets were clean, and the bathroom smelled like a public toilet. Bedroom radiator didnt work, tv didnt get a picture... I could go on and on and on, just please take my advice and stay somewhere, anywhere else! This place pretty much sums up Fort William - miserable bitter people who really dont care about service in any way, it is a great shame because the scenery around the town is spectacular. Contrast Fort William with Aviemore which also might not look great with also loads of bad 1970s architecture but has plenty of good hotels, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 102810c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We've been there for 3 nights, me and my husband and another couple and we enjoyed it.
We had a kingsize bed in our room and the staff was very carefull and helpfull.It's a good value for money and the area is just splendid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine020381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed 3 nights good location, clean, good food, friendly staff and good liesure facility.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I got a cheap price for the hotel which was £50 per night which was not worth it.

The room was what felt miles away from reception and the hotel really needs upgrading

The windows didnt shut propley in my room and so it was noisey. The towels were big, which was good, but there was that many threads coming of it , it looked like a rag.

The bath was not fulll a bath but about 3/4

This hotel also accepts coach bookings, whilst i was thier 2 coaches of Germand arrived (nothing wrong with germans) but i was sat in the bar on a table working on my lap top and because their wasnt enough space they sat on my table, not that much of a problem but then they started looking at my laptop so i had to move.

All the staff kept the fire doors open.

In the book in your hotel room it states they do breakfast room service, but no card to fill in, so i rang reception and he stated they do not do it anymore, but becasue it was in the book he would of done it but you could tell it did not like it.

They had a polish guy behind the bar and to be fair he was good, but he never smiled and looked like he was giving you the evils.

they might have an impressive web site, but i noticed allot of smaller hoels whilst i was their that looked a lot better

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmy123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $79 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing