We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Great service from all staff, always friendly and welcoming. Breakfast could have included more fresh fruit but was good all in all. Was half-board and dinner menu was varied both nights and delicious.

Travelled with kids aged two and 3 months, booked family room so didnt expect to be placed 3 floors up with no lift in the wing most far away from main part of hotel !!!! Room was spacious and nicely decorated however bathroom was very oldfashioned and tired in comparison but only there for 2 nights so who cares.

Swimming was great and kids loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummysgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 982 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2009

stayed 2 nights , was ment to be a relaxing break , how wrong i was ,first night in restaurant was a sham ,half the staff dont speak english and are poorly trained . 6.15 in morning swing door in kitchen starts banging beneath our room so a nice early wakeup call ,reported in a plesant way to manageress ,she told me the door was broken and would be fixed later, went for dinner on second night much the same chaos with the staff whitch is a shame as training would cure it, thought we would have early night ,been walking most of the day in hills . wrong again, a wedding down stairs beneath our room again , disco music on till 12.45 am phoned reception at 11.30 they said it would finnish at 12.30 so a long night . then 6.15 this morning kitchen door started banging again . my request to manageress fell on deaf ears so what chance have the rest of the staff .GOT, do not stay here unless you only need a few hours sleep a night . reported all this to reception this morning but met with a shrug of shoulders . if it at all posiable i will try and stop payment , [ A WASTED TWO DAYS ] JOHN ROOM 16

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whittbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

we booked this hotel for a short break with some mates but after reading the reviews we were dreading it. we needn't have worried,our room was warm comfortable and clean the food was very nice served piping hot and plenty of it . the weather was awful during our stay so we couldn't get out much but the pool and sauna etc kept us busy and we all thought for the price we paid it was great value for money

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanarkshireWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

rooms, reception and bar staff good but the restaurant service was a farce. Forgotten and wrong orders, chaotic service which fell on the shoulders of the head waiter, restaurant manager who simply had not briefed his staff on how to serve. Chaos reigned.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stayed here with my daughter for 3 nights. Our room was nice and spacious and nicely decorated, but bathroom could have been cleaner. The staff in the restaurant were lovely but would beneift from more training (or some training anyway!) I was disappointed not to be asked if I enjoyed my stay when I checked out. The Cold Buffet at breakfast was good but the scrambled eggs were awful! Overall I would stay here again, but I just thought everyone needed more training and there were some easy opportunities to be great missed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoBo's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I rarely complain and have never felt compelled to write on Tripadvisor, but I am so shocked by the previous reviews and completely disgusted with this hotel.

It is by far the worst I have ever stayed in, there was so little that was good (We did enjoy the pool, which was lovely and clean - to be fair), but as for the rest of the hotel I hated it!!!!

This place is typical of a rubbish highland hotel which really lets Scotland down, caterers for coach market and the masses, but was so quiet and cold when we stayed, word must be getting around not to waste you money here.

Our room was cold, old fashioned, bathroom was the worst I have ever seen, smelt of dampness, black mildew around the bath, shaver light did not work, dirt and grime around the bath and toilet.

Bedroom was dusty, cobwebs in corner of room, heater did not work.

Food was nothing to write home about and the staff need a lot of training, however they did seem friendly enough, but we did encounter some translation problems.

The previous reviews are unbelievable, so obviously friends and family of managers/owners who were entertained all night in the bar, drinking for free when we were there, bunch of drunks.

The hotel was not even full for New Year, now this says alot if a highland hotel cannot fill all of its rooms.

Trust me, don't waist your time or money on this place, much better places to stay at in this lovely area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank classlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Just spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel with family and friends to celebrate the New Year. Have stayed here on many occasions before and have never been let down. In fact this hotel gets better and better. Many thanks to all staff who were very pleasant and helpful. Special mention to Lindsay (reception), Robert (bar) and Mihail (restaurant) - not forgetting the managers David and Janet. The food, accommodation, entertainment, service were all excellent. The dogs also had a wonderful time and now look forward to going again!!!
The package deals for St Patricks, New Year etc are great!
Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ding34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $92 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing