We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parts of it are excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sutherland, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Parts of it are excellent”
Reviewed November 21, 2008

I was in Fort William for a couple of nights on business, and my employers booked me into the Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Centre. I went to Tripadvisor, read the reviews, and thought “This is going to be interesting.” I then looked at the hotel’s website, and was not very impressed. Words like ‘dated’ and ‘amateur’ came to mind.

The immediate impression of the hotel was that it was a fairly average hotel. Some parts of the public areas were fairly unremarkable (the reception and the dining room), but other parts looked distinctly dated. I felt they would have been fine in the 1970s, but . . . that was a long time ago. The ‘ballroom’ reminded me of the interior of a village hall - and I don’t mean a modern one.

Somewhat to my surprise, the fob for my room key said “Milton Hotel and Leisure Centre.” (The name was changed about 5 years ago, but the key fobs have not been updated.) Another surprise was my room itself - number 524. As I walked along the corridor I noticed that carpets looked worn, and the walls were somewhat in need of redecoration. But the room itself was completely different: recently renovated, tastefully decorated, with nice furniture - I couldn’t fault it. It was also very clean. Then I went into the en-suite bathroom. Another surprise: while the bedroom had clearly been renovated in the last few years, the bathroom looked like it dated to the 1960s - though the bath itself was quite new. There was nothing wrong with it - and it was very clean - it just didn’t fit with the room. The shower looked cheap, but worked fine - though was subject to sudden changes in water pressure. The room was quiet, and I heard nothing from neighbouring rooms or from outside. The view (mostly over a field with sheep in it) was fine, if not stunning.

Speaking to other guests over breakfast the following morning, it became clear that not all rooms were as nice as the one I was in, and some people had been bothered by traffic noise from the A82 which runs in front of the hotel. Perhaps other rooms will be upgraded in the next few years.

There was a buffet breakfast with a wide selection of items, and I thought it was very good indeed. Evening meals were quite acceptable. I did not use the leisure centre facilities, so cannot comment on it. The staff all seemed pleasant and helpful.

Would I stay again? I doubt it. It's not really my sort of place.

Would I recommend it? It would really depend on the price of a room, which room you were given, and whether you were interested in the leisure facilities. That said, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, and have no complaints.

  • Liked — nice room, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Some parts are in need of modernisation and/or redecoration
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silver1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    299
    230
    107
    104
See reviews for
177
367
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We love this Hotel and its staff. Occasionally things go wrong, but for heavens sake, go with the flow! I first visited this hotel 35 years ago when it was quite new and returned 12 years ago with my family and have been going every February since. Everyone is helpful (except for a wierd housekeeper they had one year, but we still laugh about her now - so what!) and professional - this Hotel is in the middle of the Highlands and struggles to recruit staff, but it does what it says on the tin and gives great value for money, a great base for the exploring the Highlands, fantastic food, and a great welcome. If you are reading this, give it a go, have an open mind and remember you will be staying in one of the most gorgeous places on earth, have a full belly a clean comfy bed and a warm generous welcome - ignore the moaners, try for yourself. Forgot to mention the leisure club - its great and a fantastic way to work up an appetite before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western isles
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2008

i would just like to say what a great time we had staying at your hotel also the staff were outstanding.
ps will be back soon

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paulmac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

This is not a brilliant hotel and I'm sure there are better places to spend your money in Fort William. Whilst our bedroom was large, comfortable and nicely decorated, the bathroom was in desperate need of a renovation and didn't look especially clean. Thankfully the leisure centre was fantastic and we spent time there every day so used those showers. The breakfast is usually one of my favourite parts of staying in a hotel but this one was disappointing - terrible coffee and fairly uninspiring selection of food.

  • Liked — The Leisure Centre
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

This hotel has seen better days. Rooms are very poory decorated, paint on windows falling off, plumbing very noisy, squeeky floorboards.

We looked at 3 rooms before we were happy with what we got for the money. Very overpriced for what you get.

Housekeeping was also very poor, we were out all day and came back to a dirty room. Towels had even been put back on the rail that we left on the floor as dirty.

Leasure facility is the only reason they still get bookings.

Sorry, we wont be back and have stayed lots of times in the past.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathNewtonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Nerja, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

The website for this hotel looked good and having just finished the West Highland Way i thought it would be nice to spend a bit of extra cash and have somewhere that looked fairly plush with leisure facilities. On the plus side the leisure facilities were nice and the reception staff were also very pleasant and tried their best to help . The reception was attractive but when you got to the room it was old and tired ,the decor was mismatched and the bathroom wasn't particularly clean. Our room unfortunately was very noisy as it was near the delivery bay and also where the staff went outside to smoke at all times of the day and night. We were tired on arrival so booked in for dinner, how i wish i had made the effort to go outside to the plenty of good eating establishments there turned out to be in Fort William. Dinner was woeful the food was luke warm and poorly cooked and presented, some of it was inedible and i felt uncertain of the cleanliness of the kitchens or indeed some of the Australian surfing dudes who were pretending to be waiters but failing miserably. Dinner was expensive but genuinely not worth the price paid, it is maybe acceptable if it's part of a bus trip although even then i have my doubts but to pay top whack was insulting.
I can genuinely say i will never stay in this hotel again if i was going back to Fort William there are so many nice B&Bs that i would stay there for better service and food.

  • Liked — Checking out - well apart from the bill
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness, terrible food,that it didn't look like it did in the advert.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank westwing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I have family in Lochaber and regularly visit using hotels up there 3-4 times a year.

This is the first time we have used this hotel for a few years, nothing has changed.

There are better value hotels providing far superior service, in all budgets in the Lochaber area, that I would gladly reccommend before this hotel.


However please read the other hotel 2 rated and below reviews in this section as they mirror my experiences here.

  • Liked — I was able to tolerate it due to spending time with family in Lochaber
  • Disliked — staff service level in all areas
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelt00much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing