We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The perfect stop-over for us on our trip to the Highlands. Best night's sleep in ages as bed so comfortable and room clean and warm. The Leisure club with good gym and swimming pool/jacuzzi, provided a relaxing place to unwind after a long journey and the restaurant and bar offered good quality meals without the need to leave the hotel in the evening. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: our room was toward the back but still had a view of the Loch--the staff try and' spread' gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gradmum26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a view on your stay with. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can look after you again some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    278
    212
    93
    86
See reviews for
154
331
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend here.

The leisure facilities are excellent and a great place to relax. Our room was nice and cosy with great views of the mountain. Food was excellent apart from the sausages at breakfast which were off :( We received a complimentary bottle of wine and a pass to visit Treasures of the Earth - which was interesting and something we probably would not have visited.

All in all great value for money and we will be returning the next time we fancey a wee break away,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeljimmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have taken note of your comments and have already, as you know, taken action.

We hope that we are able to look after you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just got back from a 4 day stay hear and found it to be excellent value for money the food was brilliant and we stayed in a very large family room with views of the mountains it's lovely and quiet at night . It's only 10 minutes from the nevis range where the skiing was fab! I'd definitely recommend this hotel especially for skiers .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMSRME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed you time with us and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Staff friendly and helpful.Breakfast buffet.Waiter brings your tea/coffee and toast.Plenty choices fruits ,cerials,juices and hot food...always kept hot.Hotel is kept spotless.From the rooms to the swimming pool.Dinner meals are well presented and delicious.I thought this was a 5 star,and we have stayed in many hotels all over the world.I have no doubts about recommending this hotel.Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 104 ground floor near restaurant.Round the corner from leisure facilities.Very quiet overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed you time with us and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel has no redeeming features with the exception of the mostly young, inexperienced, and innocent staff.

The corridors are dirty, damp and smelly. The room was threadbare and grubby (the bed linen, towels were clean or I would have left). I had to push through 10 doors to reach Reception/Dining Room. I left all of my food bar the soup as it was of very poor quality. Even the self-service breakfast items were cold.

In my room the TV didn't work, the shower was faulty, the single glazing allowed all the, considerable, road noise from the main road to keep me awake.

I spent a miserable night in this hotel and I'll never go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Alantstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we offer our sincere apologies. If you would like to contact us direct so that we can discuss the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Accepting that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment plan, I have to say that the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the rooms were warm and clean with plenty of hot water - sheets and towels equal to 5 star rating - and the food was well above average in both quality and choice. The Ceilidh Band (Saturday night's free entertainment) were excellent, however, cannot say the same for the dancing but we tried! Our party came away having had a lovely break and because of the particular weekend deal, it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate it. It was our pleasure to have been able to look after you all over the weekend and hope that you do make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A group of us (11 in total) spent the Valentines weekend here in the Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club. Right from the start there was a warm friendly welcome form the reception staff. We had booked for dinner bed and breakfast from Friday till Sunday. The value for money was very good. The breakfast buffet was way above average and the dinner on both evenings was very good. Freshly prepared veg and a good choice of main courses, starters and desserts went a long way to satisfying one and all in the party. The Saturday evening entertainment was a ceilidh band who encouraged people to get up and dance. Although the drink did help a bit. The bar prices were comparable to any other hotel charges and the cheery bar staff were quick with the service and attentive. There is an excellent little gym and a good sized pool free of use to clients. Towels were provided. A great way to work up an appetite if the weather turns nasty and you don't want to venture out of doors. The rooms were nice and cosy and had free tea/coffee available. As it was a Valentine weekend a bottle of bubbly was a welcome present from the hotel.
All in all I would recommend this place to stay, especially if you can get one the deals they have throughout the year. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate it.

It was our pleasure to have been able to look after you all over the weekend and hope that you do make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in scenic area with view of Ben Nevis, 1 mile north of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing