We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another visit to the Ben Nevis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another visit to the Ben Nevis”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent 3 nights in the Ben Nevis in November and was pleased that my experience was much better than my previous ones, my room was in the main building and was really nice and spacious the bathroom was well fitted out also good flat screen tv with all channels working and the food was pretty good in the bar, The reception also helped me out as I had to bring my dog with me although I was on a business trip I had not booked the pets option originally but they were pleased to allow me to bring him anyway. All in all a good experience and I will be using the Ben Nevis in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
It's good to hear that you had a good stay with us back in November and we thank you for the time you have taken to post your review.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your dog again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    287
    219
    97
    89
See reviews for
162
344
50
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My Wife and I have just spent 5 nights between Christmas and over the New Year for the 7th time which was a resounding success as always. The hospitality extended to us from our first visit has ensured we return Year on Year including other Seasonal weekends on occasion.
The Staff in the Hotel and accompanying Leisure Centre cannot be faulted for their courteousness and professionalism, and It also goes without saying that the Chef and his team should be congratulated for the varied excellent cuisine which again cannot be faulted.
We fully appreciate that it is nigh on impossible to please everyone as some reviewers seem to expect whether it be accomodation, entertainment or suchlike but the Strathmore Hotel Management & Staff do try and 'go the extra mile' in ensuring where possible this happens.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your Twixmas & New Year stay with us and for your very kind words, we truly do appreciate them.

As always it was our pleasure to have been able to look after you both and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our return from Torridon and chose the hotel because it had a swimming pool. The hotel is on the outskirts of Fort William and was excellent value for money. The swimming pool and leisure centre were good and a welcome retreat from the awful weather. We arrived early and were able to get into the room before check-in time.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The heating was not working in our room but we were offered either a change of room or a heater so felt that our concerns were appropriately addressed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we truly appreciate it and it’s good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

Our apologies again for the issue with the heating in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haddington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had three great nights at this Hotel of the New Year period. Room was a bit small but cosy and warm. Staff in all areas were brilliant - nothing was a oproblem. Food and all the entertainment was excellent and catered for all ages. Met some great people and had a very enjoyable Hogmanay - first time away for New Year - will certainly not be the last.

Room Tip: Our family room was in the annexe and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your New Year stay with us, it’s really good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Obliged to stop here because of lack of alternatives. The Hotel is run down and smelling. The staff was probably trying to be polite with limited success. Should be avoided unless in dire need.
Breakfast was poor with a very limited choice of basic items. Brioches were at least one or two days old. 99 Pounds for one family room was too expensive for this poor standard. Even a cheaper hotel can be more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle5L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we offer our sincere apologies for letting you down. If you would like to contact us direct to discuss things.

You may have seen from other replies we have made that we do have a refurbishment programme, which is set by our Head Office, which includes TVs bathrooms, bedrooms etc however this does take time due to the size of property we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

my wife and I had a most enjoyable visit, staying here for the new year celebrations, however,
the room we had was in the old motel area and was indeed very basic, a place to sleep was all I could say about it, very small, very old TV small toilet , and we had 8 doors to pass through on our walk from the main hotel to the room, that said though, the good points were the excellent meals , the very nice staff and the other friendly guests who were here to bring in the new year.
we missed the first night entertainment having booked from the 31st dec for 3 nights, and we did try a lot of hotels ,( even leaving it in the hands of EASY BREAKS who managed to get us this one), due to work commitments on the 30th , amazing the amount of hotels that would not accept these dates and were just desperate to sell the new year package, so thanks to the ben nevis for accepting this booking.
we did have a great time but I really don't imagine us staying here for any other holidays unless we could make sure we were in the main building. it is a good ten to fifteen minute walk into the main shopping area of fort william although taxis are readily available at roughly £6 per trip.
a short resume then, bar prices are what you would expect in a hotel, slightly overpriced, but we always pay them. room was NOT what I would normally accept but it was new year, meals were excellent which is a very good point , staff were all very nice the hotel was neat, tidy and clean.
if you are coming here for a walking /skiing type holiday then the rooms in the annex would maybe suit you ok .we would probably go back if we were sure we were in the main building if not then I don't think so.
overall though, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: any room over 300 is in the annex, if you don't want to walk then make sure you are in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your New Year stay with us, it’s really good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

You may have seen from other replies we have made that we do have a refurbishment programme, which is set by our Head Office, which includes TVs bathrooms, bedrooms etc.

If you which to stay with us again, just ask for a room in the main building and if we are able to allocate one we will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

visited the leisure centre whilst staying at the sister hotel in fort William
on New Year's Day I arrived at 2.30 not realising that it closed at 3 , the manageress ( tall blond lady... did not have my glasses so could not read her name badge) approached me when I was in the steam room . I was expecting to be told that I had 20 mins max to use the facilities ... how refreshing when she told me that she would keep the pool uncovered longer to enable me to do my lengths ... and did I want the steam room kept on so I could use the facility after using the pool.... now that's what I call accommodating

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Leisure Club and thank you for your very kind words we really appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing