We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We paid only £49 for bed and breakfast. The room was for two, but there was no single supplement. The decor was nothing special but it was more than adequate and spotlessly clean. The hall carpets could do with being renewed, though.

There is free parking, which is just as well as the hotel is a good 10 minute drive out of the town centre.

It contains a good sized swimming pool and spa complex. Don't forget your trunks!

We ate in the restaurant, which was reasonably priced (about £20 for three courses and coffee) and fairly tasty. The service was a bit chaotic, but friendly and helpful. Live music was playing in the hall, an accordionist, which was fun.

Breakfast was great: a fantastic selection of well cooked and local produce. This really was a Scottish breakfast, with porridge, venison sausages, haggis, etc. Along with many hotels, the only thing that let them down was the poor choice of bread - very mass-produced and synthetic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived on the Friday evening and were quickly and efficiently booked in, after putting luggage away we headed into the Bar for supper and a few drinks, good fare from menu.
The Staff all deserve a mention as they were all very helpful, pleasant and polite and made our short stay worthwhile, thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed for one night on business. staff were friendly but the room I had was not up to scratch. Scummy bathroom, small hot room, dated decor and a TV that didnt work. Very uncomfortable nights sleep

Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are a couple from Surrey and while we weren't on a walking holiday , it was quite a jaunt to our room, we had the room furthest away from the reception and the walk through the lengthy corridors was like something from the. 90's ( residential evil computer game) decor very tired n tatty. Basically clean. Old tv no radio.. No wifi. Good view but on noisy road. Staff friendly and hard working. You can tell it was once a lovely building. Good base for visiting surrounding areas. We did have a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near fire escape due to smokers nipping in and out and banging of door late at night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff were lovely and the hotel was clean and in a good location. The food was not worth the value and the hotel needs to be updated but for all the time we were there is suited our purposes perfectly!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LaurenCraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed one night in the Ben Nevis Hotel as a base before taking part in the Caledonian Challenge.
The hotel was clean if a little basic but does look quite tired with threadbare carpets on the stairs.
We travelled as a group and required 5 rooms, they did manage to keep as all reasonably close together despite the hotel being completely full that night.
The rooms were a reasonable size and the bedding and towels were good. They did provide tea/coffee/hot chocolate & biscuits in the room.
We ate in the bar and the staff were very friendly. The food was of a good quality and was served quickly with a smile.
Breakfast in the dining room was well organised considering how many people were all trying to eat before 8am. The staff were able to seat our group of 11 at one large table. There was a good choice of hot and cold items as well as a choice of juice and tea or coffee.
This hotel served a purpose for us, it was cheap and cheerful, tired but clean

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brobertson1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable. Excellent food and welcoming decor.

My only gripe is that there is no wifi and some, I stress, some of the hotel does look a teeny bit dated.

Although most of it is modern and very clean/well looked after I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $75 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing