We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clan Macduff Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Innseagan House Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lime Tree(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Ossian's Hotel(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveler rating
361
341
141
39
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
341
141
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaitress servicedining roomfront facinglounge barloch viewlovely hoteltwo nightsreception staffovernight stopgood sizefantastic viewstriple roombreakfast was excellentbit datedshort stayplenty of parkingcomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 898 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel was booked as a suprise for my birthday and it was a very pleasant suprise. The Hotel was welcoming, very clean with stunning views of the Loch. I was delighted with the level of service delivered by a 3* star hotel and we had a lovely time. the food in the restaraunt was exceptional and the service was faultless. Its great to see a family run hotel doing so well with the family still involved. At breakfast there were 10 tables with customers on and a member of staff for each! I will definitely be recomending the hotel to friends and will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyfreeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Would have preferred to have stayed in a smaller B&B but Clan MacDuff was a nice (if older) hotel. Nice view over the loch (though most accomodations along the strip also face the loch). The bar/lounge area was large and conmfortable and has a large picture window. Nice to be able to have some local beers with dinner an maybe a whisky after wthout having to worry about driving back to the room.

Be sure to book ahead for a trip on the Jacobite Steam Train.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gathers-N0-Moss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We arrived in Fort William without somewhere to stay, & we got the last room at the Clan Macduff. The family room was clean and comfortable 2 single beds & bunks. The lounge, bar and dining areas were very nice - overlooking the loch - great views. Dinner and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We had booked for 3 nights B&B. However, we needed to arrive two days earlier so were able to stay for 5 nights. We used the excellent bar for our evening meals - and drinks. The food was very good, although we cannot comment on the Restaurant meal, as the bar "snacks" were more than adequate for us. There is a fixed menu, plus changing daily "specials". Also, there is a wide selection of drinks - including Malt Whisky. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The bedroom was large, clean and overlooked Loch Linnhe. Unfortunately, the weather did not allow us to make best use of the balcony! The room even had adequate lights - something that we often find a problem in hotels. The bathroom was also very good, with bath, shower and WC. There is a large car park, lift, and even a small shop. Advice on "what to do if it rains" (it did!!) was also available. The price was very reasonable for a three-star hotel.
Seriously, we really enjoyed our stay at Clan Macduff and will definitely return there if we visit the area in the future. Well done to you all. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karanest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Good position facing Loch Linnie with plenty of parking space. Staff friendly and food good. The rear facing double bedroom was very dark and rather depressing and the lighting was poor. The room furnishings were quite dated but the room itself was reasonably comfortable. The lounge and dining room (with superb views of the loch), and the quiet room and bar areas were comfortable. Access for an elderly relative was difficult as there are various steps (including the main entrance) and the lift does not service every floor. If a person with limited mobility is included in your party make absolutely sure the staff are aware of this when booking. Would recommend the hotel but not a rear facing room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluejinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews