We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Scottish Hospitality”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Traditional Scottish Hospitality”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Spent 2 nights here whilst treated to the "Jacobite" Steam Journey to Mallaig by "Mrs F_F". Hotel located about 1.5 miles south of the centre of Fort William.

We had a room to the rear which was spacious and clean. All staff were welcoming and friendly. It was even possible to request fresh milk and extra tea bags for the room at no cost.

You won't find high end haute cuisine food however the menu offers 4 choices on each of three courses comprising good quality and well presented wholesome Scottish dishes. Table service could not be faulted and unusual to find a full table service for breakfast rather than the more prevalent self service buffet breakfast.

Also refreshing to find free WiFi internet access (laptop or computer not included).

Would recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fife_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    294
    120
    32
    15
See reviews for
161
430
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We needed somewhere to stay after finishing the West Highland Way and decided on the Clan Macduff. The receptionist showed us to our room which was in the annex. The room was fine and we had a bath which was a bonus for aching legs! The hotel is slightly dated. The staff however I think make this place. They all seemed very friendly. Breakfast was waitress serviced and was very good. They were very busy but all ran smoothly. A good enough place to stay...not luxurious but very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank roseScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel was very clean. Whilst basic in nature it is the perfect place for a stop over and had a lovely view to the front. Nice breakfast and warm, friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This was our 4th visit to Fort William and the first time we had stayed at this hotel. We were shown to our room by the friendly receptionist. We had booked a room at the front with a balocony. The room was spacious, clean and was en-suite with a bath/shower. There was a superb view overlooking Loch Linnie. The busy A82 is at the front of the large car park but this never bothered us even though I am a lite sleeper. We ate twice in the bar and both meals were very nice. The bar & restaurant are at the front of the hotel so again there are great views. Breakfast was served by a waitress and the service was quick and the meals excellent. We found all the staff were very friendly. We stayed when it was very hot (yes this does happen in the Highlands!) and even though there is no air conditioning in the hotel we never felt uncomfortable.
The hotel is situated about 2 miles south of Fort William. FW itself isn't the prettiest of towns but this is more than made up with the glorious countryside. We drove to Mallaig and found a lovely white sandy beach in its own col which wouldn't have been out of place in Barbados!
Be careful about going out at dusk - you will be ate by midges!
Would definitely recommend this hotel as it is great value but that doesn't compromise quality. As Arnie once said - I(we) will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manu1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The meal in the restuarant was not worth the £18 per head charged, the lamb hotpot had 4 small bits of lamb in gravy, the roast potatoes were almost impossible to cut (the previous nights microwaved?) the bread and butter pudding with custard arrived in a dirty plate and when turned upside down stayed in the plate. When we complained we were told that it was all a matter of taste!! We were given a room in the annex which had a musty smell when you entered the main door, the room was shabby but clean. One of our party was given a room that was dark and dingy at the back of the said annex with a window facing a wall. I would not recommend this hotel or stay in it again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDuffFortWilliam, owner/manager at Clan Macduff Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2009
This complaint and the complaint titled "unfriendly staff, rooms are clean...." relate to a group of 9 people who stayed at the hotel on Friday 26th and Saturday 27th June 2009 and some of the points have been answered in my response to that complaint..
The question of value is one of a personal valuation but I feel £18.00 for a three course meal (each course with a choice of 4 home-made items) plus tea, coffee and home-made butter shortbread, waitress served with linen tableclothes and napkins plus basket of home-made seeded brown bread, is a reasonable price. I also feel that the complaint about lack of lamb in the main course and the mark on the outside of the dessert plate was treated seriously with a full refund of £18.00 being given to the gentleman who complained.
The point about the rooms in the annexe being shabby I feel is extremely unfair as the annexe underwent a complete refrubishment 4 years ago when it was upgraded to 3 * requirements. This involved every internal wall being removed and new confirgeration of eight larger bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms, replacing the previous 10 rooms. The rooms are all painted for the start of each season and there is a rolling maintenance plan that keeps the bedrooms up to standard. A new telephone system has been installed and this year the old 14" 4 channel TV system was replaced with 19" flat screen TV with 30 channels in all bedrooms.
The single room with the poor view is answered fully in my response to the next complaint but suffice to say this room meets all the current VisitScotland 3* standards.
I would urge you to read other trip advisor comments to get a balanced opinion of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights the receptions was friendly. The rooms smelt a bit musty and one of them had no view not even of the car park and was small and dark. but were clean. the bar meal we had on our first night was good though the fish was frozen and the veg was over cooked with the mash potato not home made. breakfast was by far the best meal we had with very friendly staff. I would not recommend the dining room the menu is limited. food is over cooked from frozen. staff were rude and would not listen to any complaint, this was also true of the elderly lady who we assume was the manager/owner. I am surprised this hotel has a 3 star rating the only thing this hotel has is a view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I found this hotel on the internet and following the tripadvisor reviews booked it for two nights on our way to and from Skye. With staying only one night in either direction we booked the cheapest rooms which were quite small although more than adequate. Next time I would book a Loch View room as the hotel is located right on the side of the loch with stunning views across the lake and mountains opposite.
The breakfast is very good with the "Full Scottish" if required and is all waitress service which makes a nice change these days. We also ate in the bar one night and in the dinning room the other night . Both meals were excellant. There is plenty of parking.
The hotel was such a reasonable price at only £ 29.50 per person for bed and breakfast in the standard rooms, I wasn't expecting too much but I was very pleasantly surprised and would definately stay there again.
The fish and chips were delicious !!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLNATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing