We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gem”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Gem”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was the first hotel of four on a tour of Scotland and what a gem. Great value for money, lovely room, clean an comfortable. Great stopover as we headed off to Tain the next day. Restaurant good value. The staff were friendly an helpful. The view from the restaurant was lovely. We will return, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purpleskimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    326
    128
    37
    16
See reviews for
176
457
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

1 Night stay bed and breakfast, lovely staff, nice clean room, and a decent breakfast. Evening meal was your average pub food. Walked into Fort William took around 25 minutes, nice stroll around the shops and bars. I would happily stay there again, but would probably eat out in Fort William.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelAlKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a clean and comfortable place to stay. Reception staff were charming and made us very welcome. We ate in the bar, just fish and chips, but it was enjoyable and reasonably priced. Breakfast was very good, and served in the dining room overlooking the loch. The whole place was very clean and just far enough outside Fort William to need transport, though parking space was plentiful at the hotel. A taxi wouldn't cost much to get to the hotel from Fort William.
There was good speed free Wi-Fi in the bedrooms.
We paid £52 for bed and breakfast for two which was excellent value, and I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Wonderful views from front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week on an impromptu snowboarding trip. Gorgeous view from the hotel. It is very dated but clean and comfortable. I liked that it was pet friendly. I didn't think a lot of the breakfast though and would probably stay a little closer to the town next time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 1 night early April as a base for our climb up Ben Nevis. Had 2 dogs and we all received a warm welcome. Room very clean and furnished in a traditional style. Loved the tartan carpets in the corridors which looked brand new. Lovely communal areas - breakfast room was beautiful and waiting staff efficient and friendly. Breakfast ( I had veggie) was fine, would definitely stay there again ... as already commented on in previous reviews stunning views!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 26 - we had dogs so did nt expect a 'first class' room - try and get one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Ah the Scottish highlands at their best. The hotel faces onto the loch with the mountains rising up behind... Breathtaking . Had porridge for breakfast ... With that view, what's not to like?? Rooms basic but clean. Lovely sitting area and bar on site. Lots of tourist attractions in the area. A must see for your first trip to Scotland

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

There is a lot of choice of hotels in Fort William but this should be the top of your list.
The hotel is easy to find being on the main road coming up from the South, right on the banks of the Loch. The website does not allow for bookings but don't let this put you off. Phone them and you will more than likely get a better deal than if you book through Late Rooms or Booking.com.
The restaurant is reasonably priced serving good pub style food.
The room was clean, large for a double and very quiet. All in all a very good night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
584 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing