We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clan Macduff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$172
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
$186
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bank Street Lodge(Fort William)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
$24
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillview Guesthouse(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveler rating
361
343
143
39
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
343
143
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaitress servicedining roomfront facinglounge barloch viewlovely hoteltwo nightsreception staffovernight stopgood sizefantastic viewstriple roombreakfast was excellentbit datedshort stayplenty of parkingcomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 902 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the Clan Macduff for 2 nights whilst weathering through a storm during our annual sailing trip. Whilst the weather made it miserable to go outside, the Clan Macduff made our stay inside its four walls worthwile. The rooms were very spacious and clean, but most of all the food was outstanding giving us a true taste of Scottish cooking at its best. The staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming and the bar area was a great place to relax and get a stunning glimpse of the highlands when the rain subsided for a while. The hotel makes an excellent base for those like us who are on their way to a sailing trip or maybe even going walking up in the highlands. Excellent value for money so we will definitely be booking in again next year when we attempt to sail again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamburg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

It’ll be fair to say that the hotel has a very dated feel to it. Perhaps not surprising as it has, apparently, been in family hands for nearly 40 years. Some of the furnishings certainly date to that – for example, heavy dark wood in our bedroom which did nothing to lighten the room already dark by its proximity to the cliff face which is almost literally within touching distance of the window. Suggest if you’re here for a little while, it’ll be worth trying to get a lake facing room (which, presumably, costs more).

The room is clean and comfy though, with all that you need for an overnight stay.

Breakfast continues the air of quaintness. It’s served by a real person, not the usual scramble for a buffet. And there’s all the usual expectations for the “full fry up”. Quantity certainly, if not top quality. Sausage was of the unpleasant pappy “catering” variety. Baked beans were in a thin sauce. But, this aside, it was OK, although probably not as good as your favourite “greasy spoon” local caff.

All in all, it's OK for overnight - but I wouldnt want to stop longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Booked this hotel for free parking and the restaurant overlooking the loch. Was easy to find en route into Fort William, ample parking, clean and comfortable rooms with terrific views over the loch. Staff very friendly. Expert whisky advice at the lovely bar. Breakfast was served at your table with a good selection of choices on offer. Hotel has lovely scottish features about it down to the tartan carpets. You really know you are in Scotland. Would not hesitate to book again. One regular visitor there said it was the best hotel on this main road into Fort William. Always his first choice.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Wendy268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

A bit faulty towers and old fashioned in mummys way. We had to wait a long time to get checked-in while the receptionist showed some people to their room, I think the manager came along, rather than check us in, she enquired where the receptionist was stating she would not be long as she walk back into her office.

The twin room was spacious if tired in decor. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janice41halford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our planned sailing holiday on the West Coast was stormed off due to unseasonably high winds and torrential rain, and we found ourselves land bound and looking for somewhere to stay. Clan MacDuff made us feel very welcome and the staff were fantastically helpful, recommending great alternative (indoor and outdoor) activities in and around Fort William to keep us busy. The hotel is lovely, with a nice view of the loch from the lounge. However, the real highlight of our stay there was the food: everything was hearty, generous and delicious - perfect food for after a busy day exploring a beautiful part of Scotland. We will definitely be back, and will be recommending Clan MacDuff to everyone we meet!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganamccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews