We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Ossian's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ossian's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed for one night, whole hotel rather shabby and like a maze. Room very basic, above a noisy high street. However it was clean and for the price we paid couldn't have expected much more. Would have hated to be there on a weekend night though when the downstairs bar becomes a nightclub...the noise must be horrific!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoulaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 131 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed two nights at Ossian's as all other hotels were full. The hotel used to be Fort William's finest, but has faded over time. However, the room was cheap; it was clean and serviceable. The decor is very shabby.

On the other hand, the staff were friendly and my view over the Loch was superb. I'd recommend Ossian's for a cheap hotel room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Booked this hotel for 2 nights. No hot water, bad attitude from the manageress. We stayed for about 2 hours and got a refund and then booked into the Alexandra hotel instead. Stay away. Good location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne0670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there Sunday to Friday. Found the staff very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with very powerful showers and fresh towels every day!! Although bigger ones would have been nice. Yes it's not the most modern of places but for the price and its superb location I can't grumble. I have witnessed the disco on a Friday and Saturday night so decided not to stay those two nights as I like my sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajm76079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel described itself as "a bit run down" and not to expect the Hylton. The hotel was aging, but the bed linen and rooms were clean..... and it's smack-bang in the middle of Fort William High Street.
They have a late disco on Saturdays so be aware.
Great value though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The positives are the location in the center of the country and the fact that we found a room late at evening. In a few minutes walking you can go to see the start of the Jacobite train. The accommodation is not the best but it is cheap. Definitely not recommended breakfast (to be paid in addition).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night after a 24 hours West Highland Way on bike's. Disco very loud. Hotel looks and feels like it is in need of a revamp. Very much budget accommodation. Fine if you can accept that.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
766 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#5 of 21 in Fort William
889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossian's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossian's Hotel

Address: High Street, Fort William PH33 6DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ossian's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ossians Hotel Fort William
Ossian's Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing