We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms were disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rooms were disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked 3 rooms for 5 people. Exterior of the hotel and reception/bar area was nice. Rooms were disappointing, All rooms were in the rear of the hotel and 2 of them had a view that looked straight at a wall. The other had a partial view of the waterfront. The rooms were just OK but bathrooms were very poor including some mold in the shower cubicles. The actual showers were very poor - no force at all from the shower heads - almost a dribble (this was the same in all 3 rooms). Took ages to have a shower and get the shampoo rinsed out of your hair, Breakfast was OK except for the poached eggs which tasted of vinegar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCMab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    141
    158
    60
    58
See reviews for
87
210
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

dont EVER EVER EVER eat in this hotel, im a proffesional michelin starred chef from london, the food is shocking. the staff are rude and untrained. the hotel looks good from outside but thats where it ends. breakfast quality very poor.

Room Tip: dont book here!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank congereel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staycruachanhotel, Manager at Cruachan Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments.
According to our records these comments are not from a guest who stayed at our hotel and is a deliberate attempt to misrepresent the Hotel's products and services.
A Michelin starred chef would critically provide exact details of their experience in the food industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Bucks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had checked TA before my stay and on checking in I suggested that the rooms appeared to be variable. The clerk explained that they were gradually refurbishing the whole hotel.I was pleasantly surprised , the room was compact , but had everything I needed for a one night stay, and the public areas in the hotel were of a good standard. Staff were friendly and helpful, and it was good value at the Late Rooms rate (50% of normal) The rack rate of £110 for a single would have been unacceptable. I chose to eat out for dinner , but the breakfast next morning was fine, and the hotel was full, with a good number of tourists.

Room Tip: Ask to check the room and if not suitable ask for a better one. But note in high tourist season thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for one evening after going on the Jacobite Train - The hotel location was excellent - The weather was gorgeous for a change so we sat outside the hotel that evening to have a late dinner and some drinks. It was so pleasant sitting outside looking out over the loch watching the boats and passers by. The food we ordered however was absolutely shocking for the price. I ordered the fish and chips for my partner. As we were in Fort William I assumed all fish would be fresh. I asked was the fish fresh and was told yes! It wasnt! The chips were frozen chips and the fish was also frozen! Very disappointing - It would have been cheaper to order traditional fish and chips in a take away and also get FRESH FISH! I ordered a burger which came on a stale bun and the burger was burnt! Again served with chunky frozen chips! Thank heavens for the Lobster at Malaig earlier that afternoon!!!!!

The inside of the hotel is nicely decorated. I found the manager on charge to be very efficient and friendly. He allowed us to eat outside that evening and sent a waiter to us. However the waiter dropped the menus off and never came back. I ended up going inside to the restaurant to order.

When the waiter came to check on us while we ate I did inform him that the foo was appalling. Good enough of him... He responded, you wont be charged! Thank goodness for that. I would have been rather upset handing money over for non eaten crap food!
We sat outside the rest of the evening enjoying wine, coffee and liqueurs. The waiter was very attentive the rest of the evening.

The hotel room was reasonable. We had a sea view but the mattress on the bed was awful. We both didnt get a good nights sleep because of the discomfort!

Breakfast the next day was a problem. The site we had booked the hotel off stated breakfast finished at 10am... Despite being in the lobby at 9ish we delayed breakfast until half 9....

As we walked in a eastern European waitress stated cooked breakfast was finished - It ended at 9.30! I advised her that as she was speaking another waitress was walking from the kitchen with two cooked breakfasts serving customers! I advised that our booking stated 10am and for the sake of 2 people she should oblige. She didn't! I spoke to the lady at reception who also said no! I asked her to ask the manager who then did a U Turn and said yes!!!!

All for the sake of some poached eggs! The waitresses were rude and distant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SereneScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family & 2 others with teenage children stayed here for one night before hopping on the Jacobite train the next day. We found the hotel to meet our needs quite well. The 5 teenage girls were in a very nice sized room with a queen bed, 2 twins and a cot. They said the cot was even more comfortable than the twin beds & that the room was so big it didn't feel like there was 5 persons in it. This room had been recently renovated and was nicely decorated. The adult rooms were in a wing a bit further & they had not been renovated as recently, but were nice enough and clean enough to feel comfortable. The hotel itself is in a good area to walk to restaurants and enjoy the loche across the street. The hotel is quite pretty & is lite up at night. There is an area that we enjoyed a cocktail outside after check in and also an area where the children were able to play card games. I recommend a stay here for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerswoodfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friesland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Unfortunately I did not have much of a choice as far as booking of accommodation in Fort William was concerned because I only wanted to book for one night as I was just passing through on my way to my final destination. Therefore it was impossible to make a reservation at one of the local B&B's, which would have been the preferred option, because they only accept booking for two to three nights.

Based on the reviews I had read my epectations were not high and I did indeed find the experience at the Cruachan rather disappointing considering they charged GBP 60,- for one night! Staff was quite friendly I found, the room was small but clean but also noisy (sound of air condtionor outside the room) view was disappointing but that is less important I think. The breakfast was very very poor, not even fresh fruit! I think I am not asking too much to expect a decent breakfast when being charged the top rate! Will certainly avoid to have to stay at this place again, rather try to book a little bit more in advance next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GroueReade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hotel intially presents good quality as you enter with friendly staff and modern reception and potential good value, however, it is all facade. The rooms are very dated, with extremely tired bathrooms, really thin walls (can hear everyone around your room showering or even talking). Breakfast was awful, limited selection of juices, yogurt and hot drinks. Felt like the cheapest ingredients. Asked for change of room but went to look at others and no different. Views might be good and a drink on the terrace might be nice but the hotel has no atmosphere and not good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJCooper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Property: Cruachan Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing