We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was once very good....not so much now”
Review of Hot Roast Company

Hot Roast Company
Ranked #27 of 69 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Got a sandwich here a few times shortly after it opened and was happy - simple, good quality food served well - even said so on trip advisor. Stopped there yesterday, what a huge disappointed! Menu listed same 4 or 5 hot roasts as before but only one actually available, sandwich consisted of a few mean slivers of roast on a distinctly second rate brown bap with some salad (no dressing available) that had been prepared 'sometime' earlier. Poor food, poor choice, poor quality shame as it used to be a jewel on the Fort William high street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hi, we are sorry you feel disappointed with your latest visit, i would like to say we have never used brown rolls, also there is always salad dressing available. All our food is cooked/prepared fresh every day. Due to the time each roast takes to cook we cannot guarantee that all meats will be available all day, so if we have a busier day than normal we do sometimes sell out of some of the roasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have used this place as a takeaway. Great food great service. Only downside is the price difference when sitting in. Will use again

Thank Andygee1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thanks for the review. There is a difference in price for sitting in and taking away. The reason for this is the sit in comes with side salad and is table service, also it takes longer to prepare than a takeaway. When i took over the company i put the prices down and they have not been changed since then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We visit Fort William at least once a year and always drop in here whilst in town.
You wont find anything fancy here but what you will get is a delicious homestyle roast carved onto a roll with accompaniments.
A few tables to sit in but with so many nice views just roynd the corner, het your roll to go and enjoy it.
Simple but delicious and really pleasant staff too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeeMan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for the lovely comment. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Dropped in for a coffee and ended up having lunch. Couldn't resist the sandwiches mades from hand-carved turkey, ham, roast beef, etc. The sandwiches were not fancy at all, but they were very tasty and filling. I had the roast ham with spicy mustard and family member had the roast beef with horse-radish, even commenting that it reminded him of how "nanna makes it". Followed with a sweet, and we were on our way ... satisfied.
Most people do take-away, but there are a few tables inside as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RootBeerFloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Roast Company also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Hot Roast Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing