We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Leven Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Found this by chance as looking for somewhere away from the hustle of celebrations just wanted to relax and enjoy,this was totally worth it could not have asked for a better new year to be honest the scenery, the chalet was excellent, everything is provided and well maintained .Ian and Sharon were very friendly and if anything was needed you only had to ask .There was a christmas tree in lounge and some chocolates which made it feel homely and a really nice touch .The view from the chalet was amazing with snow on the mountains and the view of the loch. We were debating about the pine martin whether they actually existed but it came every night for the jam and bread we left out and that made the new year all the more special .Would highly recommend and we will be booking again very soon .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon A, Owner at Loch Leven Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you return. So glad you saw the pine marten, he is a bit of a regular visitor, although, like you said many people doubt they will actually see one!
Hope you have a great 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent wonderful days in the Scottish Highlands. The nights (accommodation) were equally beautiful. We stayed in the Loch Leven Holidays. There you are in good hands there with Sharon and Ian. The accommodation great, the warmth of the landlord was always felt. Our Flatscrenn was not varied in the BBC television program, our flatscreen was absolutely the view of the loch and its surrounding mountains. From here we took great tours to the Highlands. When you come here?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fam_Scholze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have stayed at the chalets regularly since 1997. They offer an excellent base for visiting the surrounding area and never fail to delight with their location and local wildlife and are always well maintained and spotlessly clean. Ian and Sharon couldn't be more welcoming and it always feels like a real home from home each time we stay. We have already booked for next year and can't wait, we would recommend Loch Leven Chalets to anyone thinking of visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

You can be very pleased with yourself for picking these chalets. Very well fitted out, great location with easy access to local spots and the isles. Much better than being stuck in a town. The owners are very friendly as is the wild life (pine martens ) that visited us every night on the front verandah, which incidentally overlooks the loch, what a great view.

Room Tip: If you have your four legged friend with you or you like sucking on burning leaves then check first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

23rd-27th September, 2013

On a whim I decided to surprise my wife by booking a 3 night stay in Scotland as we had not been for a while and she loves it there. After a lot of trawling the internet I came across Loch Leven Holidays, and after reading all the favourable reviews gave Sharon and Ian a call and booked a short break.
On arrival we were greeted by Sharon personally and shown to Seal Chalet which was all ready for us. Everything you could possibly want is in the chalet and they are extremely comfortable and warm, without a doubt the accomodation was superb. After unpacking the first thing I did was to book a extra night as three days were never going to be enough at this beautiful place.
All around the views are stunning and seem to change depending on the time of day. Just yards away and you are on the shore of Loch Leven (wish I had packed a rod, I'll remember next time). If you are about early enough you may see the otters, I didn't but Lesley my wife saw them. Top of the shopping list was a jar of peanut butter for the Pine Marten, being dubious of seeing one I couldn't believe he came the first night and every other one, in fact one night he paid us a visit three times.
Ian has a wealth of knowledge about the area and gave us some valuable information on what to see and do, top man.
Sharon, Ian, you should be really proud of yourselves and what you have achieved. Although we were only there four days it's plain to see all the hard work you put in and you could teach some of the 'big boys' in the holiday industry a thing or two.
Finally, on the morning we had to leave Lesley had a tear in her eye, she didn't want to leave, I can tell you that doesn't happen very often. As Arnie would say "We'll Be Baack.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I first stayed here 20 years ago and always meant to return. At long last we managed to fulfill this intention.
Little has changed, it is still a wonderful location, and the chalets are still comfortable and welcoming.
One new experience is the nightly visit of the Pine Martens who have a liking for bread and honey.
The location is ideal for just relaxing or as a base for trips to the many attractions which are within easy reach.
I sincerely hope that our next visit will be a lot sooner than another 20 years.

Room Tip: We stayed in the chalet with the best view - Pinemarten
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon A, Owner at Loch Leven Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will meet you again soon and you can come back for longer than 4 nights. It was lovely to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from spending four unforgettable and very relaxing nights here. Great hospitality from Ian and Sharon, lovely chalet with all the facilities and a stunning location. Excellent value for money. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking to base themselves in Lochaber area and we definitely want to stay again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jaydensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
384 reviews
2 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
10.4 mi away
Lochy Holiday Park
Lochy Holiday Park
#5 of 33 in Fort William
172 reviews
10.6 mi away
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
#3 of 33 in Fort William
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Holidays

Address: North Ballachulish | Glencoe, Fort William PH33 6SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: $154 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic self catering cottage and chalets in a stunning position on the side of Loch Leven, looking out to the mountains of Glencoe. The chalets sleep up to 4 people and cottage sleeps up to 8 people.All properties are very warm, comfortable and contain everything you should require for a memorable holiday.Our properties are an ideal location to spot several species of wildlife resident in the area from Seals to Eagles to Pine Martens. We have our own private beach leading to the sea loch where sea fishing from the shore can be enjoyed with no charge. The pebble beach is a safe haven for playing and the large grassy area ideal for a barbeque or picnic.Loch Leven Holiday Accommodation is perfect for families, couples of all ages and anyone looking for the ideal getaway. You will enjoy a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Loch Leven Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Leven Holidays Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing