We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loch Leven Holidays - my favourite place on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Leven Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Loch Leven Holidays, by the shore of Loch Leven and close to Glen Coe, is a privately run site of 8 timber chalets and a luxury cottage, all self catering. The site is run by the ever friendly and hardworking pair Ian and Sharon Ashwell. Believe me no-one could make you more welcome or be more helpfull and obliging than this lovely couple. My wife and I have been holidaying here almost every year since 2001, sometimes twice a year. Coming here always feels like coming home!
The chalets, each of which accommodate upto 4 people, are comfortable, well equiped and suberbly sited opposite the 'Pap o' Glen Coe' with glorious views across the loch.
Although I have never stayed in it myself, I do know that for a larger party the cottage is luxury itself.
The site is close to all the amenities you could wish for in Scotland's 'Outdoor Capital' of Lochaber. If you want a relaxing, or maybe not so relaxing, self catering holiday in the Scottish Highlands I cannot recommend Loch Leven Holidays highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MutleySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Fisher family have been travelling by car up to Loch Leven Chalets from East Sussex for the past six/seven years (maybe more...lost count..!). Why?... The chalets are cosy, the views are stunning from the chalets - looking over the loch, the welcome we get from Sharon and Ian each time we arrive, the tips on where the best tea rooms/cakes shops are from Ian are brilliant and the wildlife is next to none.

Each time we have stayed, we come away feeling relaxed and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We love to see the wildlife especially the Pinemartins who come on the chalet verandah most nights (who needs BBC Winterwatch when they are looking at you through the patio door :)) the birds and the red squirrels too.

There is so much to do in the area as well from walking to site seeing, we still haven't been able to do it all.... Looking forward to booking another trip up there again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishers126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been with the rest of the family several times in the summer and love the accommodation and the welcome that you receive. The views are stunning, both from the chalets and from the small pebble beach opposite them. Having seen the views around the area in summer, my wife and I decided to try the views in March, when there would still be snow around, but not enough to block the roads. We were not disappointed with either the views or the welcome and accommodation again. The chalets were as clean as ever and were extremely warm. All this is covered in the price with no extras to pay for electricity/gas or internet, everything is covered in the price.
Excellent value for money and extremely warm welcome from the hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have visited Loch Leven Chalets in May every year since 2004 in order to follow the Scottish Six Days Trial. The owners are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. They know the area well and can make suggestions about where to go and what to see and do. The chalets are spotless and well equipped with plenty of pots, pans, crockery, cutlery and glassware. Even in May it can be quite chilly or wet but they are always warm as there is additional heating besides the night storage heaters. The views from the chalets across the Loch are out of this world. With deer walking quietly through the adjacent woodland, a variety of small birds coming to the feeders and a pine marten coming to the verandah most evenings who could want for more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizBWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon A, Owner at Loch Leven Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks you very much for the lovely reviews, it is so nice to see our guests return year after year, we meet so many great people who keep our business going. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Without doubt one of the most beautiful places we have been.
Excellent accomodation, The chalets are spacious, exceptionally clean,and well equipped, the grounds are immaculate with wonderful views of the Loch and surrounding scenery, and an abundance of wildlife visits the site, birdlife, pine martins, deer etc. Ian and Sharon provide a wonderful welcome and are always available to help or just for a natter. Lots of wonderful places to visit in the local area.
Happy to return again this year for the 5th time, truly a wonderful place.

Room Tip: 2 chalets are available for dog owners to take their pet with them, ask for STAG or OTTER if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NealWeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely family holiday here. The chalets are spacious and comfortable.the owners very helpful and freindly.we had lovely weather so enjoyed lots of outdoor activities. Found the place very easily.there are lots of places nearby like Fort William oban and only an hour and half drive away to Inverness.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnahalld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

These are the cosiest chalets we have ever stayed in and we keep going back. The views are superb even in the rain and Ian and Sharon are so welcoming and can't do enough for you.
We recommend to everyone we know.
The location is first class and there is so much do to in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
2 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,249 reviews
10.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
7.8 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Holidays

Address: North Ballachulish | Glencoe, Fort William PH33 6SA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: $115 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic self catering cottage and chalets in a stunning position on the side of Loch Leven, looking out to the mountains of Glencoe. The chalets sleep up to 4 people and cottage sleeps up to 8 people.All properties are very warm, comfortable and contain everything you should require for a memorable holiday.Our properties are an ideal location to spot several species of wildlife resident in the area from Seals to Eagles to Pine Martens. We have our own private beach leading to the sea loch where sea fishing from the shore can be enjoyed with no charge. The pebble beach is a safe haven for playing and the large grassy area ideal for a barbeque or picnic.Loch Leven Holiday Accommodation is perfect for families, couples of all ages and anyone looking for the ideal getaway. You will enjoy a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Loch Leven Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Leven Holidays Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing