We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure and honest”

Up and Doon Guided Walks
Ranked #11 of 19 Tours in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Up and Doon Guided Walks specializes in unique and personalized walks with small numbers guaranteed(max 6).At an affordable price for individuals,families and groups of friends.We have guided walks and hikes for everyone from gentle valley,walks to more challenging mountain hikes and expeditions.Walk through beautiful forests,see spectacular waterfalls, see Deer and other wildlife including the endangered Golden Eagle,paddle on remote beaches,tramp over wild moorlands and climb high mountains.Our guides all friendly,qualified and experienced will look after you on your journey exploring the wilds of the Scottish Highlands.Check out our website for walks,hikes and expeditions we have running or get in touch for further information.
Hue, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pure and honest”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great experience in an amazing scenery! Andy is a great guide who knows a lot. Also a great and honest guy to be with!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monique844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
1 review
“An amazing walk with an amazing guide!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I went for a walk with Andy a year ago, we went to the red mountain in glen cow? I forget the exact name of the mountain and of the glen actually..

We had a brilliant time , I went there with a friend from the hostel and a woman we met during the walk

Andy knows so much about mountains , plants, love of live and a different view of this earth

I highly recommend you to have a walk with this amazing Aberdeenian fella , he has so much to offer , he is a real example of living for me

See you later mate!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellislehiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best way to see Ben Nevis”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our climb of Ben Nevis was made all the better by our guide Andy. We were lucky with the weather but everything else was fantastic due to Andy's knowledge, enthusiasm and patience. He picked our pace perfectly and we never felt rushed. Andy made sure we enjoyed the views up and doon. His knowledge was invaluable with history on the way up and botany and geology on the way down. We got a bonus as Andy weighed up both the weather and our ability and took us off the beaten track to view the North face where we had a memorable lunch. The views from the top where amazing but would have been wasted if Andy not there to put the distant peaks into context naming most of them and able to pick out the islands and even the outer Hebrides! The decent was unhurried which made it relaxed and enjoyable. To end the perfect day we enjoyed a dram at the bottom and again Andy helped us with suggestions for places to visit the next day which in its self was invaluable. We can't recommended Andy enough and in true Scottish style he is value for money and money well spent. Thank you Andy from Alan and Carla. See you when we come back for a Monroe or two !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davo98, Owner at Up and Doon Guided Walks, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Alan and Carla
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review:D I am glad you found the walk such a great experience and that you had a great time the next day visiting some of the places i suggested. Lochaber really is a fantastic place and there are plenty Munro's for you to come and bag next time you visit:)
Take care
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantasic day on Ben Nevis”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Andy was a great guide, he's both knowledgeable about the mountain and local area and passionate. He took us to see the north face and was a great inspiration encouraging our teenagers up the mountain.

Helpful?
Thank ostringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davo98, Owner at Up and Doon Guided Walks, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi ostringer

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review:) I am glad you and the family had such a good day on Ben Nevis. It was an amazing day to be up there and the views were certainly fantastic.Hope to see you all for another walk soon:)
Take care
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Backpacking in the Cairngorms”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Andy guided our small group, including dog, from the Lin of Dee near Braemar through the Lairig Ghru to Aviemore (great fish and chips) and then myself and dog back to Braemar via the summit of Ben Macdui. The whole trip was fabulous, and further enhanced by Andy's knowledge and enthusiasm for the mountains, their history and wildlife. His down to earth good humour and patience helped us all feel relaxed and safe and to enjoy our wild and beautiful surroundings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davo98, Owner at Up and Doon Guided Walks, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Penny C

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review:) I enjoyed the backpacking too and the company was great. A fantastic trip to have so early in the season! Give me a yell when you fancy another backpacking trip:)
Take care
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up and Doon Guided Walks also viewed

 

Been to Up and Doon Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing