We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innseagan House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed January 9, 2007

We have just returned from the Innseagan House Hotel after a post Xmas break. Upon our arrival a roaring log fire awaited us in the lounge area. In addition the ground floor area was adorned with Xmas decorations. The hotel and rooms were very clean & tidy with decor to match. Our party had three very nice Loch view rooms between us and we stayed for 3 nights B & B, the breakfast was very good. It was obvious that a lot of hard work had gone into the refurbishment of the hotel but there were still a number of issues to be addressed i.e. staff need to be more professional and friendly in their approach to clientel, maybe a dress code for the staff may be appropriate.
Overall we had a reasonably pleasant experience, although the weather could have been kinder, but in all fairness this was outside the control of the staff.
Steve Jennings
Birmingham

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Firefighter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2006

My husband and I read the reviews before our honeymoon at the Innseagan Hotel and all I can say is "go and stay at the hotel and see what you think"
We kept an open mind and had a fantasic honeymoon. The staff are warm and friendly. The food beyond expectation and the hotel homely. No request was too small for the staff and they are a credit to the Hotel owners. The Hotel is perfectly situated as a base for exploring Innverness to Pitlochery Isle of Sky etc. It is only a 15 minute stroll to the town centre. We cant wait to go back next year. Just one last thing A big thankyou to all the guys and girls at Innseagen see you next year.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

I read the previous reviews and can only say that the recent good ones must be fake produced by the owners as this must be the worst hotel we have ever stopped in and all other reviews are a good reflection of the state of this place.

Firstly we arrived in the evening a drove past the place twice and had to phone to hotel for directions as the place was in darkness as the lights had failed to go on apparently although it is worth noting that they are on in daylight hours! When we did get into the hotel we managed to overhear a conversation between the 'manager' and a member of staff and I can only describe the language as choice. On checking in our room smelled of cigarette smoke even though there is a no smoking policy in place and was not cleaned properly and again we had to interupt a conversation between staff at reception to complain about this. The duty manager was in no way sympathetic about this and was quite abrupt that this was the only room available. My huband and i decided to stay as it was only for two nights and returned to air out our room. Not a good move as we were overlooking the loch which meant our room overlooked the loch and car park where all the staff were in a constant stream smoking and swearing etc outside our window, there was no point incomplaining about this to the duty manager as she was also there. We went for a drink in the bar before dinner to be told that they didn't hold a valid liquor licence to we couldnl;t buy what we wanted!!! All we could do was laugh at this point! We went through to the restaurant to be told that the specials consisted of a stodgy steak pie and GLUTEN free curry!!! We had our meal which was ok although the noise coming from kitchen was quite loud and the vegetables were microwaved! Next morning at breakfast they didn;t seem to have anything as all we kept hearing from other tables that they had run out of most things! we had our cereal and left. We went further along the road and found a much nicer hotel with a more professional outlook. Hence we never received a refund and were advised to contact the owner by letter only. we did try to speak to the manager and the only explanation that was offered was that they were very short staffed and she was doing all the work herself! I dont think the manager was to blame I think that she was completely inexperienced and required to train for the job, although she was very informative regarding the local area.

I f you have the choice to stay at this hotel, DONT! there are nuch nicer and more firendly run hotels in the area that dont overcharge and dont make basil fawlty look like hotelier of the year like this place!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank james110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

We booked 3 rooms for one night after a long day travelling. Two of the rooms had no running hot water and in one room all the electrics went out but came back on in the middle of the night. We had booked one room for ourself and 2 year old son but, despite booking several weeks previously, no bed was available for my son. There was no ability to buy drinks as no one had renewed the licence. The staff were incompetent, no refund was offered and the owner refuses to discuss with me. The rooms are small and souless. There is quite clearly a lack of investment in this hotel by the owners and a lack of care by the staff. A thoroughly dreadful place.

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank Bagger_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We booked this hotel from a stand at the Ideal Home Show and visited in June.

We then looked up the hotel and were horrified to find so many bad reviews and felt we had been ripped off. So we decided, oh well lets go and see for ourselves.

All I can say is that we had a fantastic time, the hotel was fine, very friendly, and our room overlooked the Lock which was amazing, all the usual things were in the room as you would expect. The breakfast was excellent tried a different one each morning.

The walk into town took about 20 minutes which we did twice a day, lovely scenery on the walk.

It rained every day but not all day and we still had a fantastic time.

We travelled up on the overnight sleeper what a fantastic journey, bbest way to go. However once there I would recommend
getting a car which we didn't as we thought everything we wanted to see was on the public transport route, it was but very infrequent.

If you have booked there don't worry you will have a good time, but make sure you book a Loch view room.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BEAR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

This "hotel" was like a very bad youth hostel. It was both dirty and smelly. Staff were hard to distinguish from guests and were generally found outside the front of the hotel smoking. The room we stayed in was filthy - the bedding was old, yellow and covered in hairs and the bathroom was disgusting. We had booked to stay three nights but only stayed one after failing to find other accomodation. We could not bear the thought of eating in the hotel and so left first thing in the morning. Staying in this hotel was a complete nightmare - Please don't make the same mistake we did.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sietse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

we have just returned home after our long awaited trip to Fort wiiliam.. we stayed at the Innseagan hotel and were told on arrival that they did not have our booking.. we did manage to get a room but it was at the back of the hotel, above the kitchen and was very small and pokey for the £86.00... the staff seemed to have there fag breaks out side our window and the talk was pretty fowl and loud. would not go back as the staff appeared not to have a clue as to what they were doing, we waited 20mins to be served in the bar and breakfast was just mayhem.. the hotel it self was okay but if in the right hands would be a gold mine, staff were the main problem, the recepionist seemed to be on the phone all the time, another couple arrive just after us and were told they had no room for them so were put to another hotel, seems like they were lucky !! would not say it was worth the money, you would expect a better service from a bigger hotel but not this one all i can say is it leaves a black mark on our trip to Fort william and will think twice before returning to Fort william if this is what they have to offer there.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakkiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
8.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innseagan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innseagan House Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $49 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innseagan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Innseagan House Hotel features breathtaking views, free WiFi in all areas. A relaxed family atmosphere welcomes you to make us your refuge from the grind of everyday life. Located on the shores of Loch Linnhe, in "The Outdoor Capital of The U.K." There is plenty to do during the day. Your pets are welcome to come along and enjoy Ft. William with you, for a small fee if you please. Group excursions are welcome. The lounge offers a roomy yet cosy room with an open fireplace to just relax, log onto the free WiFi, or read a book. During the winter months or rainy days, this room is the place to go and sit in front of a roaring fire. All rooms at The Innseagan House Hotel are freshly decorated and en-suite. The rooms overlooking the Loch offer one of the most picturesque views from a hotel room in Fort William. The rooms to the rear of the building offer a "sleep in" cosiness that makes you want to sleep all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Innseagan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innseagan House Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing