We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum”

West Highland Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a museum set in Cameron Square which is just off of the centre of Fort William High Street. We have eight rooms packed with fascinating objects, from treasure from a shipwrecked Spanish Armada galleon to the bagpipes played at Bannockburn in 1314. Whether its archaeology, natural history, Commando training and weaponry, Highland crofting life, costumes and charms, Victorian times, silver, coins and medals, or even the history of mountain rescue, it can all be found at the West Highland Museum.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a very good museum, staffed by volunteers who hard a heart for the history of the town and surrounding area - and it was free

Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed our museum and appreciated our wonderful volunteers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bonnie prince charlie"
in 44 reviews
"local history"
in 43 reviews
"free admission"
in 18 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 22 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 11 reviews
"small donation"
in 8 reviews
"queen victoria"
in 16 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 41 reviews
"jacobite history"
in 10 reviews
"glencoe massacre"
in 8 reviews
"two floors"
in 12 reviews
"on display"
in 21 reviews
"high street"
in 22 reviews
"rainy day"
in 24 reviews
"spean bridge"
in 8 reviews
"local area"
in 15 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 18 reviews
Filter

682 - 686 of 917 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really enjoyed this museum - it was fascinating to learn about different aspects of highland culture.

Thank Billie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your visit. It is lovely to hear that our visitors appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Travelled from Glasgow to Mallaig and could not start to describe the scenery - amazing experience and one everyone should do the time flew

Thank coffeetime93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

and what about your visit to the museum???????? I do hope you enjoyed it as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We ended up spending an overnight stay near Fort William on route further north. Unfortunately there's very little to recommend Fort William except for this very good (free) museum right in the centre of the town. Run by volunteers it provides 6 or 7 rooms full of interesting artifacts. Well worth a visit but don't expect too much from the rest of Fort William.

Thank BobBonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

I am sorry that you were not impressed with the rest of your visit to Fort William but am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

In such a small municipally funded (free entry) museum the history of Jacobite Scotland is all there.....and more

Thank MerryMarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Glad you enjoyed you visit. We do receive some funding from the Highland Council but it amounts to less than 10% of our running costs so we do rely on the donations we receive from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Highland Museum also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to West Highland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing