We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Improving”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawriestone Guest House
Ranked #72 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Burbank, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome Improving”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Lawriestone Guest House. Upon first greeting the host felt a bit stiff, but soon thereafter he warmed, completely reversing our original reaction. The rooms were clean and lovely, the view onto the Loch was excellent, and all in all we were left with a very positive memory. It is a quiet location, a bit out of the center of town, but the walk was not more than 5 minutes. WiFi worked perfectly, the TV was fine, all in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B...although I would suggest older guests might find it more appealing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have stayed here before and got in here late evening as I hadn't booked any accommodation. Welcome was warm considering the hour, admittedly there were a surprising number of properties with vacancies. Stayed in a twin room which was comfortable and warmed up when heating was put on, TV decent. I had to go early in the morning but the owner made me a basic breakfast which was thoughtful. Shower and bathroom as well as the room itself were very clean. WIFI wasn't set up, did have to find out password but sadly router wasn't switched on but that was a small criticism. Overall a decent B&B, would be useful if they took cards rather than just cash.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 1 night on our first trip to Scotland and were taken back by the lovely old building outside and in. However it is a place you feel like you are an intrusion into the owners lives.
Not a warm welcome like experienced else where in Scotland. It was a bit like being in a musuem/library. Dont touch and be quiet.
The rooms were lovely and clean. The ensuite small but stll managable. Breakfast was ok with the lady of the establishment more talkative.
Views out the front onto the Loch were great but there is quite a number of B&B's along this road to take a pick of.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonython-Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This B&B existed for the hosts and not the guests. One of those places where you feel you should be on your best behaviour whisper to your partner and put a foot out of place at your peril. Welcome matters - we had ridden in the rain 250 miles and took our boots off in the hall out of respect for the grandiose high quality furnishings. There we were tired and dripping on the door mat- first thing the host asked was that I move my bike (then and there) because it was in the host's car reversing line!. So back on with lace up boots to move the machine 25 feet. We were only stopping one night.
Breakfast is 0830- yup thats it. Lady of the house more pleasant and tried hard to make the breakfast (average quality) go well. Views over the Loch from the bedroom is top drawer stuff.
WIFI available (if you ask)! Average score for location because it is a bit of a walk out of town - no problem if you are fit.

Room Tip: Views over the Lock at the front of the premises are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PunchyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed two nights for the Jacobite Steam Train experience whilst on a touring holiday with friends. The Lawriestone is a beautiful large house with an immaculate garden opposite the loch on the road into Fort William within easy walking distance of the town. Rooms are spacious and well furnished and the whole place is spotless. We were given a warm welcome and had an excellent choice at breakfast. We would recommend this as a great base to explore the area but endorse another reviewers warning about the timing of the Jacobite as if you book the afternoon trip it doesn't get back to Fort William until after 8pm which is rather late to check into a B&B.

Room Tip: Front rooms get a view of the loch. Second floor rooms have velux windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elderfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a beautiful place. The grounds and house are stunning. However, unless you like a military type of ritual you might want to keep looking. We arrived early and asked if we could leave our bags while we walked around town. We were told to set them by the stairs and while we were getting our daypacks ready, the owner Sam was getting obviously annoyed with us. Finally he asked us to leave as they "girls" had a lot of cleaning to do.
We headed back to the B&B well after check in time, to be escorted up to our room. Sam was friendly enough at this point and we even got him to pose for a picture.

The next morning we are heading off to start the Great Glen Way hiking trail, so we were getting stuff ready in our room when all of the sudden Sam (who we deemed 'Mean Man Sam') pounds on the door telling us we needed to come down for breakfast. We apologized and said we would be down momentarily. About 5 minutes later, MMS is pounding on our door again, this time he was pissed! We immediately followed him out, feeling like we had just gotten yelled at by our parents. Once at breakfast, it was like pulling teeth to try and engage him or his wife in any type of conversation. Not until we brought up the children, did she warm up and we never saw MMS again until we paid and left. We felt like we had been placed in timeout and it was uncomfortable.

I would not stay again because of Sam and his "rules" unless I couldn't find anything else which is a shame. It is a beautiful place in a perfect location to see the town by foot. We were quiet and respectful and didn't deserve to be treated like children when we are over 40.

Room Tip: We had three people and got a great room that accommodated all of us. It is a small B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and had a great room. The B&B is decorated in keeping with the grandness of the building and this extends to the bedrooms. Our room had views over the loch and it was pretty much perfect with a great bed and there were some nice touches that you wouldn't expect from a B&B. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
The Gantocks B&B
The Gantocks B&B
#37 of 111 in Fort William
122 reviews
3.8 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
270 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#29 of 111 in Fort William
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 111 in Fort William
97 reviews
2.0 mi away
Campfield House Bed and Breakfast
Campfield House Bed and Breakfas...
#103 of 111 in Fort William
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawriestone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawriestone Guest House

Property: Lawriestone Guest House
Address: Lawriestone Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawriestone Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lawriestone Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing