We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant”
Review of Cuilcheanna House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cuilcheanna House
Ranked #29 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at Cuilcheanna House. Would recommend to anyone looking for a stunning location, very comfortable accommodation, great breakfasts and very attentive service. This is our 3rd visit - we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winelover678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Cuilcheanna House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 188 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was a great find and we enjoyed it so much in 2009, that we came back this year for a longer stay and we've already booked for October 2010. Kirstie and Mary are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are lovely, well lit and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is wonderful and if you get the seat by the bay window, the views over breakfast are magnificent - over to the mountains around Glencoe. The setting is lovely on the confluence of Loch Linnhe and Loch Leven and it's a great place to walk the dog in the morning. I've really missed walking up Cuilcheanna Hill each morning, as has the dog. Cuilcheanna House is dog friendly and they have a lovely pair of dogs of their own.
The guest book gives you some great ideas for local walks, walks further afield and days out. The lounge is a lovely place to relax in an evening after climbing Ben Nevis with a good selection of beers and spirits. Kirstie and Mary are more than happy to recommend local places to eat and to make a reservation on your behalf.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Mary and Kirstie made our stay very enjoyable, from the lovely breakfast to providing lots of useful information about the area. The B&B is set on the shore of Loch Linnhe with lovely views. Fort William, Glen Coe and the Inner Hebrides are all easily accessible.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Brizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This is a stunning location, set on the edge of the loch. Kirsty and Mary were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and everthing catered for.
Our bedroom was decorated to the highest standard and made us feel really special when we finally started to unwind and relax from the day's adventures.
It is a great base for both a total relaxation or adventure holiday, take your pick, you will definately want to return.
The breakfast is to die for........

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Have visited twice now, as a keen walker and a lover of teh outdoors this place couldnt be better located right on the shores of the loch and much more pleasant than staying in the centre of fort william. proprietors made us very welcome and were keen to offer little tips of where to go, eat etc. We were recommended a very nice restaurant which we tried and was spot on.

Nice welcoming sitting room with books, maps etc and the breakfast was plentiful and traditional with no corners cut - top notch

Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibroadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and we couldn't have chosen a better place. Driving down the little lane to the house, with the loch right in front of us, immediately put us in the relaxed holiday mode we were looking for. It was so peaceful. We were met at the gate by Charlie the Springer Spaniel, followed closely behind by our hosts. We instantly felt like we were meeting up with old friends and this warm feeling remained throughout our stay.
The room we stayed in was big, light and well presented. It overlooked the garden and the loch and we could have quite easily stayed there looking at the view for the whole weekend! However, we did venture out and went on some beautiful walks, taking in the hills and well as the beach and loch.
As others have commented, the breakfasts are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. They certainly set you up nicely for the days walking ahead.
We are already planning to go back and visit Kirstie and Mum again soon, as our time there was just not long enough. Thank you for a wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Great accomodation, great food, great location, great hosts, great walking, great wildlife and great views.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twitchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
10.9 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
719 reviews
7.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
540 reviews
10.4 mi away
West Highland Lodge Bunkhouse
West Highland Lodge Bunkhouse
#4 of 4 in Kinlochleven
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glendevin
Glendevin
#3 of 7 in Onich
66 reviews
1.7 mi away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#6 of 10 in Ballachulish
420 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
#4 of 10 in Kinlochleven
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilcheanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $111 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cuilcheanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing