We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotland trip”
Review of Cuilcheanna House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cuilcheanna House
Ranked #26 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Scotland trip”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was a long day, after driving from the Isle of Skye and then riding the Jacobite train trip, we were so glad to finally reach the Cuilchenna House. We arrived after dark, so we were amazed in the morning to see the spectacular views from the house over Loch Linnhe. The hosts Kirstie and Mary were extremely nice, and fun to talk with after a fabulous breakfast. The room was clean, warm and comfortable. Kirstie gave us several tips on places to see on our drive to Glasgow.

Definitely a must stay place in the Fort Williams area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmike211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    44
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
103
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Cuilcheanna House... what can I say.... one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed at... I am one of the worst people to give criticism... not on this occasion. The hosts Kirstie and Mary were warm and friendly. Everything about this gorgeous bed and breakfast... well, it was superb. The room was clean, warm and inviting with all the little touches you love from your own home. Tea, coffee and even homemade shortbread (Oh and lovely decent bath towels lol).
Reading this, you probably think I was paid ha, but no just being honest.
My time here was very comfortable, relaxed, my sleep was peaceful and the amazing beautiful views from the window overlooking Loch Linnhe made my stay more than worth while. Last but not least, food amazing, well said my peace. Thank you so much, Kirstie and Mary xxxx

Room Tip: No tips need, simply delightful, quiet and lovely! xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesHarpaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. It was a pleasure to meet you and to see Trevor again. It is always a delight to receive lovely comments like yours, and to be able to share our home and wonderful location with people that truly appreciate it. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a room on the first floor with a window seat and bay window looking out over the loch. (Very "Anne of Green Gables"! :-) It was very spacious and elegantly furnished. Lovely home-made short bread biscuits were provided with tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Bathroom was small but clean and very adequate. Breakfast was excellent in a beautiful dining room - very light and airy. We also had the use of a lounge room for relaxing. It was a short walk down to the loch past a field and within walking distance of the local pub (at a pinch!). We found it a convenient spot to stay to explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave these kind comments for us. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and we are delighted that you were happy during your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We ended our holiday at this place and I'm glad we chose it. Beautiful home and hosts were super. Food was excellent and Kirstie took time to go that extra mile. Rooms are clean and beds offer a comfortable night's sleep. Would love to visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. We are always delighted to receive lovely comments, and to share our home with new guests. We do hope that you come back to visit if you are ever in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wow what a pleasurable experience it was to stay at this B and B! On arrival Kirstie was there to greet us and for the first time in our B and B experience insisted on helping us to carry our bags to our room.
In addition to excellent food and comfortable accommodation Kirstie went one step further -
homemade shortbread and fresh milk in a flask in the bedroom - spotless white linen in the dining room and quality Highland toiletries in the bathroom.
We loved the view of Loch Linnhe from our bedroom window - see photo.
Our main reason for wanting to stay in the Fort William area was to take a journey on the 'Jacobite Steam Train ' from Fort William to Mallaig - voted by Wanderlust as the greatest rail journey in the world - The Glenfinnan viaduct featured in the Harry Potter film series.
Bearing in mind that Fort William is full of 'your average hotels ' we were lucky to find them all full and to come across this little gem at the side of Loch Linnhe.
We can recommend Cuilcheanna House without reservation.

Room Tip: We liked room Islay overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilfillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are delighted that you were happy with your stay with us here at Cuilcheanna House. It is always a pleasure to share our home with people that appreciate it as much as we do! We do hope to welcome you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A traditional Highland house, landladies Kirsty and Mary offer warm hospitality in their 300 year historic home, just off the A82 near Fort William in a lovely quiet location on the shores of Loch Linnhe with fabulous views of mountains, water, sky and nearby woods: tastefully modernised, bright and very clean rooms, comfy beds. Your sleep is induced by sounds of the sea, birds and trees, breakfast is freshly cooked to order and delicious.

I have been back twice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janso0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback following your stay. We are delighted that you have been happy during your stays with us at Cuilcheanna House. We hope to welcome you back many more times on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This lovely little gem is set in the most idyllic spot about 20 mins outside Fort William. We were so lucky with the weather, but no matter what the weather is doing the views are breathtaking.
The welcome was warm and friendly, the room spotless and comfortable, only over shadowed by that view. Hubby would have liked a telly but I'm not sure why? and I didn't miss it one bit. The breakfast kept us going all day, and nothing was to much trouble. There are lovely little walks on the shore line and up into the hills.
It was a 20min drive into Fort William and about the same back to Glen Coe. As my title states perfect in every way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheridan-Chetwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. I am delighted that you were happy with your stay, and the weather also co-operated too!

Just to answer your comment about the TV - we have do a 'peace and quiet' policy so do not have TVs in the rooms, however there is one available in the guest sitting room that your husband was more than welcome to use!

Hopefully we will welcome you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
0.8 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
643 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glendevin
Glendevin
#3 of 7 in Onich
65 reviews
7.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#6 of 10 in Ballachulish
410 reviews
10.9 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
693 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#25 of 111 in Fort William
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilcheanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Property: Cuilcheanna House
Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cuilcheanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing