We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality B&B in a scenic part of Scotland”
Review of Cuilcheanna House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cuilcheanna House
Ranked #30 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way to the Outer Hebrides, and would recommend it for anyone needing some accommodation in this area. The room and breakfast were both good. The shower misbehaved a little, not giving consistently hot water, but that was the only fault with the facilities. The hotel is in a nice secluded place with a great view of a sea loch. We were pleased to be able to find a dog-friendly B&B, although the owners said they had had one or two bad experiences so for any dogs staying, please make sure your owners are well behaved.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_and_Martyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your stay in our home. I hope that you and George enjoyed your visit to the Uists. Hopefully we will welcome you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We looked at many places around Fort William and finally went for Cuilcheann​a House because of their location, veggie option breakfast and pictures of the "Mull" room.

Everything about the stay was very good - excellent, (Except a few minor details I will go into in a bit, but I'm being picky)

Communication with the owners beforehand was excellent, they were very informative and pleasant, finding out on our arrival that this attitude was the same in person.

The Mull Room was as we expected, great views, plenty of space and a huge comfortable bed, the downsides to the room was the size of the bathroom (In my mind I saw a large lavish room, old cast iron bath and gold taps, in reality it was a bit on the small side which was quite cramped for a me and my pregnant wife), and the placement of the TV (It was impossible to watch from the bed due to the bed frame being so big; saying this the website states there are no TVs in the rooms)

The breakfast was great, very smooth service, all the food was piping hot and the coffee was brought out in cafetiere so you didn't need to wait between cups. The veggie breakfast was excellent with very good veggie sausage and haggis.

The pictures on the website could (by some) be seen as misleading as the one of the house was taken some time ago and looks a lot better than in reality and don't show the caravans next door but this did not ruin the experience at all.

We will look at going back if in the area again.

Marked 50/50 between excellent and very good, only dropped points because of:-
Location - Caravans next door and other houses making the views slightly less appalling
Room - The bathroom was a bit too small
Value - I've never paid £95 for a room before so wanted dancing girls and a firework display.

Room Tip: If you want lots of space, book the Mull Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wezzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and your wife recently, however I was sorry to read that you seemed to have mixed feelings about your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously and will certainly take your comments into account when we next look at improvements that we can make to the facilities that we offer. I do hope that you will remember us when you next visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March in room called Mull, the views from the room alone where worth the money! You are met with a warm welcome from the owners, breakfast very good.

This B&B is in a beautiful area with stunning views.

Cannot wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review for us. It was a pleasure to meet you and your husband recently. Don't forget - next time you must try the Seafood Cafe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at Cuilcheanna House in February 2013, while on a winter mountaineering trip to nearby Glencoe and Fort William. I had orginally booked in for 9 nights but I ended up staying for 11 nights and I can honestly say that I did not want to leave!
Mary and Kirstie are both wonderful hosts in a wonderful location. The rooms are all ensuite and very comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities available in the rooms with "fresh milk" supplied on a daily basis,(I have never had fresh milk supplied in any hotel, guest house or B&B). The breakfasts are to die for and are cooked to order from the menu, while lots of cereals, fruit juice and fresh fruit is also available.
Not only is Kirstie a wonderful host, but she is also an Oracale of local information and constantly provides very useful advice, all of which is based on her own experience.
Cuilcheanna House is steeped in Scottish history and it is set in an ideal lochside location in one of the most beautiful places on Earth, it really is a place where the magic happens.

Room Tip: If you request a view of the Loch you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmac117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us. It was a pleasure to meet you and to share our home with you. I am delighted that you were comfortable here, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Mary and Kirstie have provided the perfect location to visit, a warm welcome with excellent facilities.
Breakfast was second to none and plenty of it, our hosts were amazing nothing was too much of a problem.
Kirstie had a fantastic knowledge of the local area and her recommendations for our excursions with the children were fab.
Can't wait to return soon...

Room Tip: The Front room where we stayed was exceptional with views over Glencoe and Loch Linne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshire40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a trip to climb Ben Nevis. The rooms were homely, warm and very comfortable. Kirstie and her mother were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome.

The location is superb, and overlooks a sea water Loch which you can easily walk down to to enjoy the scenery. Even in November this is a place well worth visiting.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for just one night in July, but had a most enjoyable stay. The house is close to the lock edge with a nice view over the water. The room we had was large and bright with a comfortable bed and a bay window which was pleasant to sit in while reading. Breakfast was the full Scottish with plenty to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
7.7 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#23 of 111 in Fort William
248 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#11 of 111 in Fort William
314 reviews
7.1 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
1.7 mi away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Ballachulish
429 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilcheanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing