We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Ranked #56 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Great hostel with incredible views. The tavern upstairs is amazing with long beer-hall style tables, lively atmosphere and brilliant food. The bunk house downstairs is incredibly convenient as after climbing Ben Nevios you really dont want to spend too much time walking anywhere!!

Friendly staff, well kitted out bathrooms and kitchens and atmospheric beer hall all made our stay there memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1111121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed in the Bunk House on the night before starting the National Three Peaks 24hr Challenge. The Bunk House is clean, however, it's not very secure, and some people are coming / going at strange times. We hardly got any sleep, and in hindsight might have been better staying in a hotel.

However, the Inn upstairs was fantastic. The food and atmosphere were great. They did start to clean up and drop hints around 10pm that it was late. But overall, great place.

Ideal place for starting the ascent of Ben Nevis, as its right at the base. However, you can park here for free anyway

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon&Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

i know this is going to sound churlish but i found the bunkhouse to be noisy , as late as 3am, and dirty, make sure you take flip flops to avoid standing in the wee in the 2 toilets for 24 people, nice.2 old filthy showers and a small drying room, too small if its been a very wet day.
the good bits are obviously the setting, it is stunning countryside and i never tire of it but if you shop around you should be able to get B&B for not much more.
the kitchen is quite large but again if the bunkhouse is full (as it was) then there is little room for people to make and eat thier food.
the food and drink upstairs in the pub are very good and reasonably priced,
at the moment the pub is undergoing a makeover and i hope they continue it into the bunkhouse.
i would be a little sceptical to recommend this inn to friends apart from the excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everestbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Stayed for just 2 nights April 30th and May 1st and had a brillilant time. I totally lucked out as not only did i have the whole place to myself (obviously got there just before the summer rush) the weather was also scorching!! Had been a little hesitant as was my first time staying in a hostel so not entirely sure what to expect but i totaly landed on my feet with this one. All bedding was supplied. Facilities were basic but everything that you needed with well equiped kitchen with massive table to sit around (i imagined lots of walkers with bowls of warm soup), hot showers, drying area and the inn upstairs if you can't be bothered to cater for yourself! Was wonderful to wake up to the sound of sheep instead of planes and sirens!

Staff were so relaxed, friendly and genuinely interested in you and the meal i ate upstairs was delicioius. Felt very liberating to sit outside tucking into my meal while watching the sun go down. There's a great selection of ales to work your way through too! Everyone there is so chilled and friendly and all the walkers always said hello.

The visitor's centre is only 10 mins walk away with very helpful staff who were able to suggest a wonderful alternative walk for me (to the area where Braveheart was filmed) as due to illness i wasn't fit enough to do Ben Nevis itself. Is a lovely walk into the town centre (Fort William) with plenty of stuff there to do and see (i suggest boat trip on Loch Linnhe) and everybody there knew the Ben Nevis inn!

I don't drive but was able to get myself around very easily. Depending on your speed (i have short legs and it was hot so i wasn't rushing) it took me about 45 mins to walk from the Inn to the town centre (i'm sure it can be done faster) tho it only takes about 7 mins by taxi/car.

The Ben Nevis Inn is textbook definition of value for money - i alway believe you get what you pay for and in this case i definitely feel i got more! I felt very safe having stayed there on my own. Can't say what it would be like if it was full to capacity but if everyone is as friendly as the people i met while out there it definitely wouln't be a problem. Will definitely go there again next year and try to stay over a saturday night so i can catch some of their live music too!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ebabz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

I, along with 11 buddies stayed here from May 18th to 20th 2007 and basically, the Ben Nevis and Bunkhouse is absolutely magnificent. If you want somewhere simple, practicle and most of all well priced, you've got to stay here. It's right at the foot of a tourist path up to the summit. You'll fall out of your Bunk onto the mountain.

The staff are genuinely very helpful and friendly, in particular the guy who showed us to the room on arrival. Accomodation is dormatory based with three cubicles of bunkbeds - great fun! There are also excellent facilities at the inn with a fully equipped (Oven, Microwave, Fridge, crockery etc) spacious kitchen area, warm showers and a drying room for your damp walking gear.

Food at the Inn is also extremely good with a good selction of beers to wash it down. Add to this the fact that you are only 10 minutes away from Fort William, you couldn't ask for much more.

All in all, the ben Nevis Inn is excellent and I will definitely be staying there again sometime soon.

Mike

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeCfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank Henrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rikie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#26 of 111 in Fort William
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse

Address: Achintee | Glen Nevis, Fort William PH33 6TE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Hotel Fort William
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing