We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Nearby Hotels
$211
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
$239
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$123
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Fort William(Fort William)(Great Value!)
$89
Travelodge
View Deal
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
$24
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Corran Bunkhouse(Fort William)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
53
34
16
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
34
16
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk housetourist pathben nevisbig kitchenkitchen areaviews are spectacularlight sleeperwest highland way walkstayed for two nightsself cateringsinksbedswalkersaccommodationdormpeakssummit
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 126 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place has everything. The location is perfect, with views of the stunning mountains and right at the start of the track to Ben Nevis. The whole pub/dining experience was first class, the staff are brilliant, super friendly and the food was amazing and very reasonably priced. It is a very popular restaurant (and rightly so) so you will need to book a table in advance. We stayed 3 nights in the bunkhouse and cannot fault the accommodation. Having recently been refurbished - i think a lot of the negative comments you read on here are now obselete. The bathroom area is clean, there is hot running water all day, a fully equipped kitchen area and nice clean beds and bedding.
I would stay here again without hesitation and I can't wait to come back. As long as you're not expecting the Ritz you can't go wrong. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ignore the bad reviews - this place is an excellent choice
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellybean600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

On returning from climbing Ben Nevis myself and the group decided to pop into the Ben Nevis Inn purely because it was most convenient. I thought it didn't look great but was pleasantly surprised to find the inside with its long wooden benches stone walls and log burner in the corner very welcoming and cosy. The wine was good and the food was fine better than can be said for most places we had tried. Worth visiting for the atmosphere alone.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jans1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The weather was hideous - pouring down & very windy, it was a battle to get out of the car. A very worthwhile battle tho. The service was very good, the tea smoked duck starter & the salmon were both excellent. OH had soup & the burger which were also very good. I also had the cranachan which was nice. It was very quiet but it was only 5.30 when we arrived and it started to fill up as we left. Very enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WEwant2seethewoLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here after a week in various bunkhouses from the Lakes to Fort William. After the boring slog of the Ben it was lovely to be in the warm with great food served as early as 5pm. Everyone really enjoyed the meal, it was delicious. Staff were prompt and attentive.
As for the bunkhouse. Filthy, luke warm shower. Please take flip flops! Dead flies stuck to toaster, mildew in taps, blood stains in toilets. As I said, we stayed in 5 other bunkhouses so did not expect luxury but this was grim. Noisy too and the two of us on bottom bunks got bitten. I removed a toenail from by my bed which was nice.
As a pub/restaurant excellent, accommodation, try down the road in Corpach.

Room Tip: Eat but don't stay!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misseatalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for 1 night before starting our 3 peaks challenge as the location is perfect. The bunkhouse was clean and well equipped (except for a lack of mugs and glasses), the Inn has a great atmosphere, great views and great food. I had checked when we booked our accomodation and evening meal that our collie dog was welcome in the bunkhouse and was told that was fine as long as everyone else who booked was happy and if not they could put us up in a smaller room - no problem. On arrival we were then told that no dogs were allowed inside the bar/restaurant! We were forced to leave her in the car while we ate even though she had spent 9 hrs in the car already that day! We have spent many holidays in The Lakes and have never come across dogs not being allowed in bar areas and most allow them throughout the pub. We would love to be able to stay again when next visiting Scotland but feel we would not be able to if our dog was not welcome in the pub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_Tess_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews