We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of Bank Street Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank Street Lodge
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here at the end of our West Highland Way walk, very pleased with everything, cleanliness, helpful staff, value for money, central location, 5 mins to train station and good rooms - would recommend booking early though. For a hostel it is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 238 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

staff were nice and friendly. but not very clean. the bed sheets never looked like they had been washed as had stains on the sheets and had a dirty smell. the showers were hot and strong but the shower block was not clean and the toilet kept blocking and most of the time didn't flush. the kitchen and dinning area was fine but not very big not much room to move around

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em92travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights when taking my son on a long weekend of mountain biking and walking in the mountains. Stayed in a twin room with shower room. All very clean and had everything we needed. Shared kitchen facilities were fine, with a decent lounge area to eat and meet other guests - mainly seemed to be people finishing the West Highland Way. Lovely welcome from Cathie and the other management team and we felt well looked after. We were able to leave our bags on the last day after we had checked out, while we went off for the day to explore the Nevis Range resort and gondola. Did the job.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The location is ideal as it's in the small centre part of Fort William. Easy access routes to Ben Nevis, Glen Nevis, the motorways etc

The staff were very friendly and helpful and as locals themselves had ample knowledge of places to see etc

I stayed two nights in a single ensuite room which was really great value for money, very clean and had perfectly adequate facilities. No hair dryer but that didn't bother me

They don't serve breakfast, which might be preferable, but there are places to eat minutes away and they also have a fully equipped kitchen with all the gadgets and pots and pans etc if you want to cook your own meals. There are a Tesco's and a Morrisons a few minutes away, so very easy to buy your own food.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, if I come to Fort William again, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

very nice place to saty and cheap. the staf that i encountered while staying there were really friendly.
kitchen area is very well equiped with all the things you would need to make a meal or even just a sandwich.the bedroom i stayed in was the hostel type room with 3 beds. the room was warm and the bed was really comfy (didnt expect the bed to be as comfy for the price)
there is a large dinig room with tv and radio with a big selection of dvds and even videos.
There is also a free wifi service which i had no problem getting signal in the bedroom.

WOULD CERTAINLY BE STAYING HERE WHEN I RETURN
AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE FOR £17.00 PER NIGHT YOU CANT GO WRONG.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocacola186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed for one night only, in a double room. Everything was nice, the bathroom had plenty of hot water, the temperature was fine although it was cold outside, there were towels and soap and everything, even tea and coffee making set.
The reception has a notice board with weather forecasts and other information.
Everything went very smoothly.
The charge a small surcharge for card payments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rur_ptakopysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed for four nights in bank street lodge. Location is perfect and it was 2 mins walk from train. bus and high street. I stayed in double room for reasonable price and it was perfect condition. I gave 4 star only due to lack of wifi internet connection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saravana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
755 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $42 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank Street Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing