We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We went with Lochs & Glens on this holiday. Really good value for money and so nice to have a break in the winter. The hotel was excellent, we couldn't fault it. Food was good. The holiday was so well organised and you didn't have to think about anything just be on time for meals and tours. The staff were really helpful and cheerful. We had a lovely room overlooking the Loch.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    101
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
245
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Fort William and this has to be one of the best! Excellent staff (management team were super - magaret was a star!) Great service all day and night! Excelent decor and a good quality refurbishment has taken place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iQuestScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

iwe stayed here on a 5 day trip with lochs and glens ,it was a mountains & mistletoe ,combinde with my birthday,we had a great time ,made new friends, and are now thinking about doing a six day trip in march ,i would recomend this trips to anyone .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toshsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakes
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

this hotel has been refurbished to a high standard retaining many original features,the rooms are of a good size and very clean, and well kitted out, LCD tv, plenty of tea & coffee.
bathroom was all new and modern.the food was very good and the service was excellent .
we enjoyed our stay and would be returning very shortly. the staff are cheerful and very helpful and nothing was a problem for them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stalybridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This hotel is absolutely great.Our five day break was excellent.The staff were friendly helpful and always cheerful nothing was to much trouble.Food was excellent and was served very well with a good selection .Entertainment was of a good standard and the bar prices were good , possibly one of the cheapest we found.(we did try a few).
Last but not least a big thankyou to our driver Peter who made a long drive (10 hours) go with ease.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schofield75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Following a recommendation by a work colleague we stayed as part of a 'self drive' holiday. The staff were courteous and helpful. Room very clean and comfortable. Hotel in general was in tip top condition. Food good quality with ample choice. Enjoyable evening entertainment each night. Decent bar prices. Can't really fault it. (weather a little chilly at the time so heating could have been set a bit higher). Don't know how they do it for the price and would definitely recommend it. Intend to try out other hotels in the chain now.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MancBoyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton the Naze
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel on a holiday with Lochs and Glens.The hotel is situated in a wonderful position above the town of Fort William overlooking the loch.The hotel rooms are very clean spacious and modern the food was good, staff were friendly and very helpful. The bar area was spacious and drinks were resonably priced.The trips organised by Lochs and Glens were very good but we were very lucky with the weather clear blue skies every day.A very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Property: Highland Hotel
Address: Union Road, Fort William PH33 6QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing