We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lochs and Glens Highland Hotel. Pauline Beccles”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lochs and Glens Highland Hotel. Pauline Beccles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just back from our first trip with Lochs and Glens staying at The Highland Hotel Fort William.
A great holiday experience Dave our driver was excellent and very knowledgable of the area,
the hotel was lovely, clean and well organised . Will certainly be going with Lochs and Glens for future holidays.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burners17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    98
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
231
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

yet another great holiday with lochs and glens,the hotel is great,its location is superb,staff are excellent as are the rooms and facilities.
the choice of meals is very good
the location leads to a very peacefull nights sleep and some very nice views

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a Lochs and Glens holiday at the Highland Hotel. I have been so relaxed since I came back that I have not had any motivation to get back to normal household chores yet. Everything is taken care of- as soon as you arrive at the hotel luggage is taken to your room and all you have to do is enjoy yourself. The rooms were very clean and we were fortunate to have a room with a view of Lough Linnie. It was really spectacular as the sun shone the whole time we were there. The food was very good, a great choice in the morning and a three course meal in the evening. Portions are not enormous but when you eat three courses you would not want to have any more than this. The entertainment was very good, on one night we had a piper and scottish dancing which was great. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a great bus driver called Colm who was one of the safest drivers I have ever had, he also was so courteous and a great ambassador for Lochs and Glens as he had a great personality. All in all we had a great time, if you want a holiday where everything is taken care of and all you have to do is relax then this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tipsy9-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed at the Highland hotel on a Lochs and Glens holiday. We liked everything about this hotel. Very pleasant staff, spotless rooms, Incredible view over Loch Linnhe. However, what impressed us most was the the way everything was so efficiently organised. No queueing in reception on arrival because keys were already in the room doors. We were just given cards with our room number on, and went straight up. (Luggage arrived at same time). Dining room was run like a well oiled machine, (without rushing anyone). Food was very good and varied. Plenty going on, Entertainment acts, quizes, bingo and raffles.
Would definitely stay there again. Great area too. Glencoe was awesome.
Our Lochs and Glens driver was the brilliant Roy Hardwick. He was mine of information and kept us informed and amused all week.
This holiday was great value for money and better than all of the coach holidays we've been on before with 3 other company's.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doug764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

had a lovely time from start to finish,great coach driver (Kevin) nothing was too much trouble, staff at hotel where the same, hotel was lovely and clean, will be going with lochs and glenns again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roo11466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A real old hotel but with many modern rooms in the extension. The bedrooms are very nice and clean and the shower/ or bathrooms are great, Our bedroom was on the ground floor at the rear of the building - which was very nice but when booking again we would be asking for a 'loch view' The staff are very friendly and professional and will get you anything you ask for. The scottish breakfasts are very good, in fact all the food is good and there is plenty of it. We were with Lochs and Glens and we have found that their hotels are extremely good and very inviting. The Highland Hotel was no exception. We were taken out to the scottish mountains and glens and although the weather was a bit mixed it was beautiful to see the snow on the mountains. This hotel is located on quitr a steep hill but the coaches take you right up.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'loch view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not long returned from a trip with Lochs & Glens Holidays, my second trip with them and can't be faulted. No hanging about anywhere, coach comfortable, Ian our driver was on his first trip to Fort William with Lochs & Glens and did a great job. Hotel lovely and they couldn't do more for you. Room 201 had a view of the Loch. Food was good and plentiful, served quickly and hot. Room clean and comfortable and slept like a log. No waiting about for the lift. Best of all, being a solo traveller...no single suppliment surcharge. Good on you Lochs & Glens! Other tour companies take note. From the phone call to enquire about booking (was fully booked at the time, was phoned back with a cancellation) to the drop off, could not be faulted on any point. A very enjoyable trip and wont be the last. Thanks to all concerned, pat yourselves on the back.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view, I did and got it...and unlike some places no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Property: Highland Hotel
Address: Union Road, Fort William PH33 6QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing