We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a re-fit”
Review of The West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The West End Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed July 8, 2010

A very tired looking hotel, bed needed re-newing and decor needed updating. Coloured bedding and towels! Room and en-suit was adequate and clean. Staff were the redeeming feature, all but one, were great. Reception and bar staff were exceptional. Breakfast was adequate, but no black pudding. Dinner was appreciated by myself but my mate was not so happy with his duck. Overall not bad value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasideannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for The West End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 355 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

There is not a lot not to like about this hotel. The rooms are a little basic, and the outside of the hotel is quite dated, but dont let these things stop you from staying here. From the minute we walked in the door, we were greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff who could give us lots of information about the surrounding area and services and amenities. The room staff, bar and restaurant staff and reception were all very helpful and friendly. Although slightly basic, the rooms were comfortable and very clean and there were clean towels every day. Food in the bar or restaurant proper was very good, decent portion sizes and good value for money. The breakfast was done well, and the staff catered for all of our party's individual requests excellently and with good humour! The hotel was very central and had a nice seated area out front where you could enjoy a cold beer and enjoy the stunning views of Loch Linne! I would definitely stay here again and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great location, value and service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halifax_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We were in fort william for a hike up ben 16 of us from dublin fire brigade we will be back. Rooms have had a make over, change the photos on your web site they do not show the new standards. Breakfast was very full and we had a dinner on one night in the hotel in a private room staff were fun and food was 100%. Bar staff were very quick. We asked about a packed lunch and it was done without question, flasks were filled. Keep up the good work heres to the next few munros.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank X-The-navigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The amazingly friendly and helpful staff made what would have been a good hotel great. The rooms were clean and quiet, location is very close to the centre with beautiful views and ample parking. The food was very good and prices extremely reasonable. Although the hotel would benefit from some minor refurbishment you really couldn't ask for more at this price. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and were extremely friendly and welcoming right from the first phone call until we checked out (especially the man in reception), everyone was lovely to our 15 month old baby and we would definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldfish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

One of the worst hotels we have stayed in our 14 trips (and 14 countries) in Europe, including eastern Europe. Room smelled, was noisy, cold (heat did not work, although it was an unusually cold night for early September) and the bathroom floor was so saggy and slippery that it was very dangerous to step on the floor without risk of falling. Breakfast was OK .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights because we were getting married in fort william and had the reception at the hotel, the service from everyone was excellent the staff were so friendly nothing was to much trouble for them. we ended up stopping 2 extra nights.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The Facade and the location of the hotel can be totally misleading - the rooms are small and totally in need of redecoration. Our bathroom shower was broken and in our friend's room there was no water. Wouldnt recommend this at all - glad we just stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssmmiittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
739 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $70 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing