We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
109
148
98
52
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
148
98
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west end hotel room was clean traditional hotel bit dated single bed double room high street night stay loch fort evelyn receptionist highlands drawers jacobite skye ben
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 447 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

There were dark hairs swept behind the door in the bathroom.
There was a blood spatter on the wall next to the single bed.
There was prevuous occupants left washing under the bed.
The shower mat was under and behind the toilet cistern.
The walls were paper thin and we heard next door walking about and talking to each other.
There were no staff when we checked out for the first train.

The view of the loch and the window were great.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank daneverest1343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is a bit tired, but is in a good position and just needs to have some money spent on it. The sound insulation is pitiful, we could hear both bedrooms either side, the noise from the corridor, the elephants in the room above and the traffic noise through the single glazed Windows. The staff were helpful, but there seemed to be a bit of an atmosphere within their organisation. The prices might be reasonable by other Fort William standards, but expensive for the standard of accommodation.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Seems Fort William can be difficult to get a room. February for a day in early May. I did book a single room but had a nice size room. Clean, good linens, hot water. Restaurant was closed so dinners were in the pub. Breakfasts in the restaurant room. Good service and ok food.

Room tip: I was on the road but had no difficulty sleeping.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiauno2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is in a prime location, literally looking out on the loch. Unfortunately the hotel is very dated & needs a complete refurb.
That said, the staff are brilliant: friendly, cheerful and give great advice on where to go and what to do and see.
We happened to mention to Patricia (who is one of the nicest barmaids ever!) that our mattresses were awful and i was actually sleeping on top of the made bed as the springs were coming through. Straight away the manager Chris came over and the very next day our beds had new mattressses.
As i said: Patricia on the bar was amazing, really friendly and funny. The manager Chris was very helpful. All the breakfast room staff were lovely, especially (i think her name was) Evelyn!
Food was ok, breakfast pretty standard. Nice bar food in the evenings.
Overall the hotel is a nice base from which to see the surrounding area. If money was spent on it, it has the potential to be a great place!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank amanda_allchurch1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Rather run down hotel,in dire need of extensive modernisation.Rooms very basic,furniture etc, in need of upgrading.Staff O.K., but seem to have a lack of motivation.Hotel,at least in a good location,most shops,station,etc,all in close vicinity.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank 25,043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews