We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One nighter”
Review of The West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The West End Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Banbridge
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One nighter”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed Sept 2013 found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was a triple it was clean well equiped with 3 single beds and a good supply of tea and coffee the bed was very comfy as was the room on the whole. Had a meal in the bar which was well cooked and well presented and keenly priced. Goodnights sleep and to wake up and look out upon the beautiful Loch Linnhe. This was a last minute decision and I was not sorry would definetely stay again well worth it.

Room Tip: Loch facing room, car park at hotel or just across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAl1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    132
    66
    29
    14
See reviews for
49
121
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A glass and concrete temple the West End is not! But this family owned hotel exudes warmth and friendliness in abundance and provides from the front rooms beautiful views of the loch. The food is excellent and the helpings more than adequate. The staff most of whom I understand have been there for many years - always a good indication of a happy establishment - are delightful and ready to help with all manner of advice. Yes, perhaps the decor is a little bit outdated in parts - though I notice a programme of refurbishment has been ongoing in the less busy times - but the hotel is spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is such that the decor becomes insignificant. As in so many ways looks are only skin deep. The staff always have smile on their faces and the service in the bar and dining room is good. When in Fort William I would never think of staying in a hotel other than the West End.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms overlooking Loch Linnhe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My friend and I arrived somewhat bedraggled and wet having just completed our three-day cycle of the West Highland Way on Saturday evening 7th September to be met by Scott who was on reception at that time. He couldn't have been more helpful and assisted us to have our mud-spattered bikes cleaned prior to arranging for them to be stored overnight. Accommodation was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent served by friendly and attentive staff. In my view, staff can make or break a hotel stay and there is no doubt that Scott and his colleagues represent The West End Hotel admirably and certainly made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a slightly old fashioned but very comfortable hotel. The staff were pleasant and helpful (especially the waitress), the room was clean and well equipped and breakfast was perfectly satisfactory. There was also excellent real ale in the bar.

My son slept well, but I was ill (nothing to do with this hotel) and was also unable to sleep much for laughing at someone in another room who gave the most astonishing exhibition of snoring which no degree of soundproofing could have kept out. Otherwise, it was very quiet. Just hope he's not there if you stay here or anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonythekingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here for a night whilst passing through Fort William. Having not booked in advance, most hotels and b&b's were showing no vacancy signs, except the West End. I am not sure whether this says something about the hotel, but I was met by a very cheerful (and loud) gentleman on reception who was very happy for me to have a look at the room before booking. The room was reasonably well appointed, albit with a very old television and a remote control that did not work. Tea and coffee facilities were available. The bedding and towels were a variety of colours, but clean. I had a reasonable night's sleep, although not on a particularly comfortable mattress.

I ate in the bar, but off the full menu - the restaurant did not appear to be open. The food was okay, but nothing special - pub grub, albeit the starter of a haddock fishcake at £6.50 was very overpriced for what it was. Breakfast in the morning was typical of the seaside hotel industry, with everything, including cereal delivered to order, e.g. choose one item from the following, etc, etc. I had the kippers - not recommended.

Only an average stay and not one that I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Fort William for three nights, but not at the West End Hotel. We simply found this as a good place to eat at night. We thought that the food was very good and the service was prompt and efficient. Most importantly the food was served hot and the portions were large.
The staff were friendly and attentive and we would return again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great location near the centre of Fort William. The room was a little dated and coiuld do with refurbishment but it was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. The lady in charge of the dining room was very capable and a real people person.
At night we were too tired to go out so ate in the hotel. It was great value for money with pplenty of choice. Our group enjoyed everything we ordered with no complaints. The overall experience was good and it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Pick one overlooking the loch for fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Property: The West End Hotel
Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing