We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, stunning birds”

Creag Meagaidh National Nature Reserve
Scherpenzeel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely place, stunning birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited this reserve early in the morning and did the woodland walk. Amazing what you can find here, we managed to find tree creepers, dippers, various finches, siskins and loads of other birds. There is a nice parking place and an information board that tells you what it is all about. 50 schades of green were around. There are loads of feeders and there is a lovely picknick table. Serene and soothing place, loved it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Well Looked after place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

when you turn of the A86 into the carpark you can see immediately that this place is well maintained. Just looking about from the carpark you can see the information boards nicely presented, a bird watching station and well maintained paths. Some lovely Dry Stone Dykes. Vast areas of well kept grass, Picnic benches. There is different lengths of walks for all ages and sizes and yes just up the road at the house PUBLIC Toilets. If you want a stroll or a hike then you can do it all here. Lovely. Plenty wildlife to be found at different times of the year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank foster1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great wildlife walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wish we'd found this years ago! Great place for seeing wildlife and easy walking. Fantastic scenery and views. Good information boards, easy to follow routes which are well marked. Loads of parking space. Just outstanding!
Amazed that there were toilets in the middle of the great outdoors and lots of great information.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I wish we had more time to spend here! We paid to go into the visitors centre which provided some of the history and was worth the visit. I was really impressed that everything else was free! The views are amazing and I wish we had more time to do all the walks. I will be returning!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Creag Meagaidh - "Scottish Gem"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This reserve, not far from Newtonmore ,is an asset for Scotland. Free to enter, plenty of parking, well maintained paths with walks ranging from flat ( which I'd say was even suitable for wheelchairs) to more challenging for experienced hill walkers. Plenty of informative snippets as you walk and, in the wooded area, lots of feeders to attract birds. Lots of picnic spots, so pack a picnic. Although we didn't see deer we saw the evidence of their presence. Toilet facilities available and everything is well signposted.
The drive from Newtonmore to the reserve is through some of the most stunning scenery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MeS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creag Meagaidh National Nature Reserve also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
 
 

Been to Creag Meagaidh National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing