We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Fort William
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
16
25
16
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
25
16
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inverlochy castle large towels michel roux sized room late at night decent size would stay again porridge comfy bed ben nevis factors lounge accommodation fort bath highlands base
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2019 via mobile

On the grounds of Inverlochy and you get to benefit from the amazing breakfast at the castle but very old bathrooms and furnishings. It is an underwhelming experience. However staff at Inverlochy were incredible.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Kathleentogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

This place was disappointing. Though it could have easily been a lot better.

The good is that the rooms are suites. Or at least ours was.

But the bed! The mattress was way passed it’s prime, no support, you fall 5 inches when you sit on it and it is clearly busted in the usual sleeping places as you end up in a v shape when you lay on your back.

They also ask you to open the bathroom window when you take a shower, but if you are shorter than 5 ‘10 good luck with that.

As others mentionned also, really warm in the rooms.

Also a bit annoying is that they could at least have basic continental breakfast on site. Not a lot just the essentials.

But no, all the services including breakfast (which one needs to reserve if they want to throw away good money) are at the castle hotel, and that is a luxury hotel catering to wealthy clients, but they offer those services to the factor’s inn as if you were part of their target demographic. 25£ per person for a breakfast anyone??

It really feels as if the inn is on their property and they rent it out to get some income, but don’t really care otherwise.

They could indicate a lot more clearly that you need to register at the castle. Otherwise you just walking around wondering if the place is abandonned.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ChrisMInOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here one night in the Factor’s Cottage while traveling with a dog. The room was nice, clean, and a decent size. We particularly appreciated that it included a dog bed and water/food bowls. The location was good for our travels up north (although slightly outside Fort William).

The downside was that the walls were very thin and we could easily hear people coming and going (problematic when traveling with a nosy dog!). The castle grounds are also a little bit strange and run down. Finally, we found the check-in process very awkward, as it is through the castle hotel and the staff treated us rather poorly as we weren’t the “real” guests.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank trj3189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

This is one of the creepiest places we’ve ever stayed. It may be on the grounds of Inverlochy Castle but it’s a ways away in grounds of its own and requires a drive or walk of about .5 mile to get to the castle where all services are. It is actually a closed bar with chained doors around the first floor with rooms above. We checked in at the castle, drove back, had to unlock the front door and walk through a tight hall by other locked doors, up stairs to our room. Yes the room is big and has a big bathroom, but the toilet roll was so far behind the toilet the seat detached when trying to get it. The shower/tub had a glass half door with no rubber at the bottom so water went all over the floor. We had to go to the castle for breakfast and dinner. There are no services at all at Factor’s Inn, not even an ice machine. Everything you may want has to be gotten by driving up to the hotel. Dinner at the hotel is in the dining room and requires men wear a jacket. Breakfast was served by a window overlooking a pretty view of Ben Nevis. We went in at 8:35 and ordered coffee right away. I texted our daughter so she would know where we were so that’s how I knew what time it was. At 8:45 we ordered breakfast and coffee again as it still had not come. At 9:00 we got up and left as three other groups had come in after us and had been served juice, tea, coffee, toast, and food, and we still had no coffee let alone any food. This hotel (Inverlochy Castle) is super pretentious. Although the manager we spoke to was nice, it doesn’t make up for the slow, shoddy service. Don’t stay here or at Factor’s Inn!!

Room tip: Don’t stay at Factor’s Inn or Inverlochy Castle
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

This is Factors Inn not Factors Cottage.
Although we may use the facilities of the castle including drinks and breakfast, staying 1km away in this derelict building is depressing.
You drive to the site and let yourself into the abandoned building. There is no lounge, no office. On entry we opened every window in the entire building! It’s musty and hot and no one has ever opened these windows judging by the filth. On a 25degree day every heater in the building is on and the place locked up.
The room is nice. Clean and spacious with complimentary wifi. Bathroom is below average.
The issue is that you think you are booking on the Castle Grounds but you are not. Don’t be fooled.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank burlon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews