We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacLean Guest House
Ranked #14 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rooms are extremely comfortable - mattresses are great. My wife and I slept like babies. The windows are double glazed so even if you are facing the road it isn't a problem, you won't hear anything at night. The B&B is quite close to the city center which is convenient for night out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertrand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely brand new hotel with spacious and well-appointed rooms. Plenty of parking at the rear though on a one-way street so you have to drive around a bit to get out. Perfect position for the station, Morrisons, the local catholic church next door and only a few mins from the main pedestrian street.

Nice breakfast though choice a bit restricted, eg not offered a yoghurt as an alternative to cereal. Main problem we had was with the heating; our room was very hot but we couldn't get the heating turned down (in August!). Had to resort to having all the windows open. Owner confessed it was a known teething problem and something he planned to address.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I went to Scottland with my girl friends and we stayed 3 nights in dbl rooms in the MacLean House as a recommendation! Well, it certainly does stand up to its recommendation. I have stayed in many many B&Bs and there is only one I have rated excellent in the past 5 years! We are happy to spread the word to our friends and family! Extremely nice people, high quality & QUITE rooms. We had the most pleasant stay and beautiful food. Thank you! We will come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Cant recommend this place enough. Very friendly people, clean well presented rooms, wifi that works and very tasty breakfasts. Close proximity to the train station for the steam train to Mallaig, town center etc. Perfect place for our anniversary get away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Brand new furnishings and very comfortable rooms. However, I'd say it's more like a hotel stay than a typical Scottish B&B, less character then I've seen in others. On the plus side, rooms are clean, comfortable and bathrooms are well appointed. The owner is fantastic and very welcoming on arrival. Breakfast is adequate but nothing too fancy. Location is perfect for the Jacobite steam train and accessing the shops and restaurants in town. Off-street parking is a major plus. As noted it is on a main road, so there is road noise, however there's nothing that can really be done about that, so can't criticize the MacLean for that aspect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumsyJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a fantastic guest house. Me and a friend had completed the West Highland Way (roughing it, camping the whole way), well after a few celebratory drinks in Fort William we managed to miss the last bus/train home and had to find accommodation rather quickly. We must have looked like a couple of lost souls at the door but Mark took us in and made us feel very welcome. The room we stayed in was of an exceptionally high standard and the refurb was clear to see. The room was very spacious, even with enormous beds, it had all the extras and the shower was amazing. The breakfast to finish off our stay was of a very good standard and all request were met. If you're in Fort William and looking for comfortable and luxurious stay then MacLeans Guest House will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

There are not enough superletives in the dictionary to describe this Guest house. The guest house has had a complete refurb top to bottom, including the widows. The rooms are cleanly decorated,light and airy, the bed a joy to sleep in. The bathrooms spotless and the large shower excellent.Tea/Coffee making facilities, hairdryer. A nice warm welcome from Mark on arrival and who cannot do enough for everyone. The breakfast was also superb, good choice of cereals,fruit juice,fresh fruit,any combination of English breakfast, i recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled egss, jams and fresh toast. The hotel is a good location to the railway & bus station 5mins walking, good parking, close to pedestrian shopping centre, with many hostelries, restaurants and tourist shops. Morrisons and Lidl close by . If you wish to take the Jackobite steam train to Mallaig ( Harry Potter ) and can not book on line, then they keep 40 tickets back for sale on the day, get there early. I will also try the bus to Avimore next time. Try the Crannog fish restaurant ( 10 mins walk ) but you must book before you come or in advance, it is very popular ( because it is excellent, not cheap but worth every penny. )
Will visit again soon. Mark this was fantastic, thank you again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the front, all ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryJOrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
1.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
2.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacLean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacLean Guest House

Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located on Belford Road, the main street of Fort William, which makes walking to the city centre, train station, or Belford Hospital take only a mere five minutes. Whether you are looking for a cozy retreat with superior accommodations or simply a place to stay while passing through the area, our ultramodern rooms and complimentary hearty breakfast choices will provide you with the feeling that our guest house truly is our pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your MacLean Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacLean Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing