We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacLean Guest House
Ranked #14 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Five Star Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I plus four other friends stayed here for 3 nights in October. One couple had the disabled room downstairs which met all their requirements. The other 2 rooms upstairs were both spacious, modern and very clean and comfortable. The whole of the guest house is superb,
with the hosts Brandi and Mark making our stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts were very good and the toast just kept on coming which meant we had a good start to the day. Would recommend this guest house with no hesitation as it is better than some hotels we have stayed in at twice the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munchkin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
89
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Myself and my pregnant partner stayed her for 2 nights at the end of September. When we first arrived Brandi greeted us and then said she was going to change the room we were in. I don't know if this was because my partner was pregnant or not but the room we had was a great size with King Size bed and great sized en-suite which had a full bath with shower above. We caught a glimpse of the other rooms and they all looked of a similar size and the quality of the finish in each was excellent.

We had a front facing room and yes, with the main road to Inverness just out side, you could hear traffic but we didn't notice it after long and slept with the windows open throughout the night both nights.

The breakfast both mornings was excellent and cooked to order with plenty of fruit juice and tea/coffee available with really friendly staff.

We actually found this guest house through KGB deals which meant we didn't pay full price but unlike other deals you didn't feel like a deal customer. If the service we had was what a deal customer gets and it's different from a full price customer then I can only imagine they tuck you in with a bed time story when you pay full price.

Great place to stay and brilliant service. Happily return and pay full price for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Churchill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Found this gem after a Google search as we have never stayed in Fort William before. The trip was part of a birthday treat and included a run on the Jacobite steam train to Mallaig. The guest house was a 5 minute walk from the station and the onsite parking meant that we could leave the car and walk round the town without extra charges. The room was lovely - very cosy, clean and bright. And the shower was to die for - especially after being blown about a bit since the weather was quite wild. The breakfasts were lovely - especially the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. Brandi & Mark were excellent hosts - friendly and unobtrusive, nothing was too much bother even when we had to ring the bell in the evening as we could not get the door key to work. Thank you again Brandi, Mark -we will definitely be back to your lovely house.

Room Tip: The guest house is on a main road, however the double glazing is good. If you are worried about traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Surprising find, ultra modern,very clean and beds comfortable, on site parking with easy access to town, staff and owners very accommodating, would definitely recommend a stay here everything you need after a long day out in the hills.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

No chintz, brocade or tartan in sight. Under floor heating was a surprise bonus. Free onsite parking close to the town centre saved us a few pounds. Easy walking to shops and attractions. Made to order breakfast was a delight.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our walking group of 6 stayed here for 2 nights and we all thought it was a lovely place and definitely worth a return visit. The rooms were modern, spacious and clean with good facilities. The beds were comfortable, which is much needed when you are up early and walking all day. The breakfast was very tasty with good quality ingredients and good size portions. Highly recommended...

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Annlou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Five of us stayed in the MacLean Guest House for a night a few days ago in a double room and a family room (2 double beds there) whilst touring Highlands. This is a brand new Guest House (only opened in April 2012 I guess)- excellent modern decoration, spacious light rooms, big comfortable beds, flat screen TVs, nice bathrooms, everything you need in the room plus free wi-fi.
But it's the service that makes this place so special- welcoming friendly hosts and great staff, who serve superb breakfast (choose one of the food options- salmon&eggs is lovely and so is fruit&yoghurt) and are there to help you at all times.
The Guest House is also 5 mins walk away from the town centre high street with all the pubs/restaurants/shops and the train station. Highly recommended to anyone - I wouldn't look anywhere else if I ever happen to visit Fort William again :)

Room Tip: Family room (2 double beds) on the top floor provides excellent mountain view from the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmytro_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacLean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacLean Guest House

Property: MacLean Guest House
Address: Maclean House Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located on Belford Road, the main street of Fort William, which makes walking to the city centre, train station, or Belford Hospital take only a mere five minutes. Whether you are looking for a cozy retreat with superior accommodations or simply a place to stay while passing through the area, our ultramodern rooms and complimentary hearty breakfast choices will provide you with the feeling that our guest house truly is our pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MacLean Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacLean Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing