We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, great food, great room”
Review of The Lime Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lime Tree
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Room was light, airy and had views to the loch.
The hotel which is also an art gallery is lovely with staff very accommodating.
The food is good. Scallops were delicious, lobster also good, but a very small one!
Would recommend the hotel although expensive per night. Perhaps it's the supply and demand that causes the cost, although fabulous hotels in both NY & London cost similar prices!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 518 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

One of these moments when you just drop in with the chance of getting a room. As it happened we got the last one. A twin room but comfortable and clean, good bathroom.
Decided to dine in and we were not disappointed. Great cuisine, beautifully presented and great taste. The artwork which I believe is done by the owner of the hotel was splendid and added to the overall feel of the place.
Staff were friendly and provided great service.
Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Book in early to get a double room, twin room fine though. Room 3 we had and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We decided to upgrade a bit at the end of our West Highland Way adventure. The welcome was good and the rooms spacious and had real character. Lovely four poster beds and fantastic freestanding bath were really nice features. Bit of a problem with the glass bowl sink leaking and partially resolved fairly quickly.
The food for both dinner and breakfast was fantastic and reasonably priced. Definitely worth reserving a table for dinner as it seemed quite busy but it is not big. The Chef's creations were imaginative and hit the mark. The pigeon breast for starter was excellent and the main course of belly pork was really well executed and presented.
A nice touch was a slate tray of appetizers which were wonderfully individual and different.
Breakfast also had a good menu of hot food and beautifully cooked and presented.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent two nights at this sweet B&B in Fort William. Of course, it is integrated with a 5-star restaurant and art gallery which is very nice. The staff were extremely pleasant, and the inn owner (on duty during the day) provided a great, hour-saving tip for our subsequent Ben Nevis climb. The rooms were European style (i..e, a bit on the small side), but the inn has a "drying room" which turned out to be both handy and effective. The common rooms are cozy and the fireplaces are lit (yes, it was July), and the otuside sitting is perfect for an after-dinner whisky and cigar. The included breakfast is outstanding: had a giant omelet one morning and the standard Scottish breakfast the next.
Best of all: the inn is perfectly situated on the edge of "high street" so that you can get to the shops very quickly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RootBeerFloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Lime Tree is located right in the downtown area of Fort William. The hotel includes a restaurant where my wife and I had a lovely dinner and a nice breakfast the next morning. The room was large and quiet and we had a good rest. There is parking on the grounds. The owner, David Wilson, who is a guide for hikes in the Ben Nevis mountains, recommended his favorite single malt, the Ledaig, to me and I enjoyed it very much.

I recommend this hotel when visiting Fort William.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackAguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here with four others on Friday night as last stop on West Highland Way. We all found everything to be of the highest quality. Extremely comfortable rooms, Quality beds and linen. Service excellent without being overbearing.
I would rate the meal we had in the restaurant as being in my top 3 I've had anywhere.
I honestly find it difficult to understand criticism of last few reviewers. The excellent reviews I had read before coming, were more in line with my expectations and experience.
I will definitely be back here .... Hopefully without West Highland Way blisters.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smudge024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a night here in June in four poster room which was pretty good although the bathroom did show signs of age and some mould was present round the bath area which I always hate. Having said that, room facilities were good and the bed was very comfy. Dinner was an altogether excellent experience and I cannot recommend the restaurant highly enough. The head chef is producing food that is surely worthy of Michelin Star recognition. In particular, my rack of lamb was incredible as was the rhubarb baked Alaska which I learned from the chef, had been designed by himself. Breakfast was a similar experience with very fresh produce cooked to an excellent standard. I must say that the service was not in any way lacking and staff were attentive and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haemara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Tree

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort William
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: $105 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lime Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree in the 1850 former Church Manse, is a 3 star Small Hotel, a fantastic Art Gallery and arts studio and an award winning fresh food Restaurant AA Two Rosette and Silver Eat Scotland Award overlooking Loch Linnhe in the centre of Fort William - the 'Outdoor Capital of the UK.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lime Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
Lime Tree Fort William
Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
The Lime Tree Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing