We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Croit Anna Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
co durham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed 4 nights with Alfa Travel. Lovely room with view of the Loch, nice bathroom with a very good shower. All very clean. All staff pleasant and helpful. Drawback was the food. This is the 4th Leisureplex hotel we have stayed at and food poor compared to the others. We were 3rd sitting and sometimes the food was lukewarm and dry from being kept warm too long.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    90
    71
    28
    35
See reviews for
39
101
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

A2 star hotel, lovely setting, great rooms, clean throughout, staff friendly , sadly only down side was the food , the chef if they can call themselves that should look for a new job, I have never seen so much burnt and under cooked food, and its the only apple pie with no pastry ?, sort this problem out and I can see no other reason why they cant have a 3rd star .

Room Tip: be better if you have a loch view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We, a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers aged 13 and 17, stopped overnight here on our journey to Skye. You do have to look carefully for the sign as we missed the hotel in both directions and had to turn around further up the road. On the second occasion, we knew where to look but as it was dark and the sign wasn't lit up, we yet again missed the entrance and had to turn around further down the road! We had 2 lovely rooms with loch views on the top floor of the hotel which were both very spacious and had plenty of drink making facilities. The bathrooms were very clean and had ample toiletries and towels. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful when we arrived. The hotel was very quiet at night but we heard a group guests going down to breakfast at 7am in readiness for their day trip so you have to bear this in mind if travelling independently. A pleasant stopover and ideal for exploring Ben Nevis and Glen Coe.

Room Tip: A loch view is good, and if you're happy with the stairs, the 3rd floor has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We returned for stay at the Croit Anna Hotel, For value for money I can not praise this Hotel enough. We had a large room with a balcony with magnificent views over the Loch. They even let us take two arm chairs from the public area so we could sit and just enjoy the views.
The Staff were helpful and friendly and made you feel welcome.
The food was plentiful and there was a range of vegetarian options on offer you just had to order them at breakfast.
The entertainment was basic for our tastes .
The only problem we had was with the coach drivers.The first driver turned up twenty minuets late and proceeded to blame us for his waiting not only in the wrong street but in the wrong town.
The main driver for the week tended to bee a bit abrupt and as we had the front seats we did not know our voices could be picked up by his microphone and he could have mentioned it to us in private instead of announcing to the entire coach.
Other than that we had a fantastic time and will no doubt return to sample the friendly reception of the hotel staff and soak up those amazing view.
This Hotel offers some of the best value we have experienced for a hotel classed as a 2 star establishment. Some 3 star hotels do not even come close to what the Croit Anna offers.

Room Tip: Rooms 39 and 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at the Croit Anna Hotel in Fort William early July on a coach holiday. Have to say, can't believe it is only a 2 star as our room on the third floor with a full view of Loch Linnhe was very spacious, pleasant and comfortable with extras that you would only expect in a 4 star hotel such as heated towel rail, tea/coffee making facilities with a constant supply of tea/coffee etc, flat screen television, plush carpet, valet stand for suitcases, large shower and always very hot water on demand. The hotel itself was very pleasant and comfortable and the staff we found to be very welcoming indeed and a real bonus was free wifi which you don't get at many 2 star hotels. The evening entertainment was adequate and pleasant. The food choice at the hotel was very good and the food was always hot and portion sizes were good as there were invariably 3 courses. The waiting staff were pleasant, polite and courteous. The bar prices were not too expensive either and the bar staff again were pleasant and courteous. We knew when we booked the hotel that it was only a 2 star but it surpassed our expectations. The buses ran frequently to Fort William or we could have chosen a taxi or walk, the latter we did on several occasions as it was such a pleasant and flat walk with stunning scenery. The town itself had a great deal to offer with lots of well known shops, bars, restaurants, train station, library, museum and hospital and plenty of things to occupy you. Judge this hotel for yourselves, we enjoyed our stay here very much and would book to stay if we were touring Fort William again.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view room, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deegee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consett
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel has no curb appeal however, the interior is fine, the staff are pleasant enough. The room was very nice and clean.We were on the 2nd floor and please bear in mind there is NO lift or air conditioning. The room was very hot.The hotel is 2.8 miles out of Fort William, served by a bus every hour or taxi which costs £6.There is entertainment every night which consists of a country singer with a backing track, but they were O.K.
Meals for us on the coach trip were set times.Breakfast is O.K. but some items are overcooked and hard. Service is very quick, our waiter (Sylvestre) however, was a really good and pleasant waiter.
The food at dinner was very poor, everyone had something to say about it, it was a very low standard, the roast chicken was sent back only to be replaced with inedible turkey.
Overall the hotel is O>K> but badly let down by the food, please be aware of this when looking at this hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are better some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lechatnoirjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the Croit Anna with Alfa Travel. It was our first experience with Alfa and we were unsure what to expect. We are used to Shearings and have actually stayed at their hotel, The Caledonian, just up the road. Overall it was an enjoyable stay at the Croit Anna but it could have been so much better.
The location on the edge of Loch Linnhe affords some magnificent views and our Loch view room allowed us to take full advantage. The 2 ¼ mile walk into Fort William kept us fit and we only had to resort to a taxi (£6) once because of the rain; although the hourly bus service is cheaper at £2 it is not very reliable. The hotel was quite a friendly place and our room (40) was quiet, comfortable and pleasant enough. The luggage handlers deserve special praise for their speed and efficiency.
Although we had an enjoyable week and the food was generally very good there were a few culinary lows particularly the cremated Yorkshire pudding and the tough, inedible roast beef which was served to us on the first day. Vegetables tended to be good the exception being the parsnips which had to have the black bits cut out of them and the green chewy leek leaves. Being served one day with milk that was ‘on the turn’ at breakfast and then again at tea was a bit disconcerting. Starters and puddings were very good and the Lasagne served as a Chef’s special was outstanding.
The service in the restaurant was overall good if at times annoying it was initially a matter of collaring someone or catching someone’s eye but it improved when we were assigned our own waitress. The most annoying aspect of the service was at breakfast when only fruit juice was self service. I do not know of another hotel where you have to wait to be served with cereal and then as a consequence always having to ask for more milk. On the last day with only 45 minutes allowed for breakfast before the coach was leaving it took 30 minutes to serve cereal, tea and toast

Room Tip: A Loch View is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjohn030151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Property: Croit Anna Hotel
Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Croit Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Three Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing